We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a short conference. Lobby (actually all the public rooms) were decorated beautifully for Christmas. I was concerned when in my room between meetings with the noise level in the hallway. But once the evening ended all was perfectly quiet. The bed and linens were so clean and comfortable. I heard that there had been a recent renovation and it shows. Bath was equipped beautifully, meeting areas were kept well stocked with refreshments and drinks. Staff was very friendly despite the number of people in our group. (Estimate 125-150 persons....). The "continental" breakfast rivaled Embassy Suites buffets...plenty of choices, fresh fruit, just perfect. If I had to be away from home, this was a great place to stay. Wish I had more time as the town itself was calling me to shop. Many wonderful and unique shops, restaurants, etc. well within walking distance. About 50 feet to the left of the front door is a replica of the Blackfriar theater of European distinction, and while the play that night was not my cup of tea, I walked with co-workers about two blocks to the Depot Grill for an excellent dinner. I will be visiting on personal time again soon - thank you for a quality stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn8533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    329
    63
    13
    6
See reviews for
250
450
43
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
COLUMBIA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed the Tuesday before Thanksgiving using a Shakespeare package with a really good price for tickets, room, parking and breakfast and mostly enjoyed the hotel. The performance next store (handy) was excellent. We had a corner room on the 6th floor which was spacious and clean. The breakfast was very good. My negative issue was that the heating system cycled on with a loud clunk about every hour or so. I am not a light sleeper, but the noise was enough to wake me each time. They have done a great job refurbishing the facility and maybe I had a faulty system. I hope they're not all that loud. Except for that, I would give the place a much higher rating and will probably return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah National Park, Virginia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here for two days during Thanksgiving and glad we did. Outstanding facility, location (steps away from the famous Shakespeare Theater), and unsurpassed service. The lobby is lovely, the on-site restaurant is wonderful which offers a great breakfast buffet both during the week and weekends. Favorite waiter is Sadiq who took great care of us. We had not a complaint during our entire stay. The bed was very comfortable, and the room quiet.

The hotel is conveniently located just a block off Beverly Street, the main shopping street in downtown Staunton. There are many close restaurants, coffee shops, boutiques and more, well within walking distance. We feel we were offered A-1 service and have already stayed there again since our initial visit. Affordable as well!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IAmEve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

husband had a seminar, so I came along as a happy-birthday treat. The lobby is beautifully decorated for Christmas, the service was wonderful, but unfortunately the noise was quite remarkable. Apparently there was a sorority party in the restaurant downstairs in the lobby, so we had to go out for dinner, and the dj had the bass and volume up so loud all we could hear was massive thumping of the drums, until midnight. I called the desk and complained, and they said they would turn the volume down but there's no way they did. This morning, soooo tired from my sleepless night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the lobby-there are parties and dances that are very loud, and there's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were lucky to find an available room for a night a ended up staying for two more. Our corner room on the 7th floor had views of the Old Mill and Los the rooftops of town. Loved the layout of the room and the comfort of the bed. we were able to get conditioner from housekeeping, so Anna U. there was some if you asked. The Christmas decorations in the lobby and trees are beautiful. Blackfriars was closing "Cymbaline" so we saw that play. Black friars did a wonderful job and Staunton is lucky to have such a playhouse. The town is great for wandering around. Make sure to stop at the visitor center and get the maps from Tommy. He has great advice for how to spend a day or two. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a corner room ....714 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 196CindyJ196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

beautiful hotel, clean room, comfortable bed, friendly service. if I could ask for anything more, it would be a little conditioner bottle next to the nice smelling shampoo. Admittedly, a very 'first world problem'.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were planning to go to Staunton anyway so check out the Woodrow Wilson home, so when we got an offer from Groupon for a night here we took it and turned it into a getaway. The hotel lobby is lovely, and stately. The room was very nice, very clean. The only thing missing was a mini-frig which is a nice thing to have to keep a bottle of water or leftovers in. The bed was a bit firm for us, but that's a matter of personal taste. The garage is a bit of an effort, but it works. Breakfast buffet was good and service good as well. We may return one day just to enjoy the lovely town of Staunton.

Room Tip: The second floor could be bit noisy I would think as it is open to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 24 S Market St, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing