We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historic hotel with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
433 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Lovely historic hotel with excellent staff”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Centrally located and steps from the Shakespeare theatre, this lovely hotel is historic but not dated very comfortable rooms. The staff went out of the way to be helpful. Covered parking. Lots of events such as wedding receptions. Easy walking to Woodrow Wilson house and museum and charming downtown. It was a terrific location for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mule54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    377
    76
    16
    6
See reviews for
286
514
51
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Our first Wildlife Center of Virginia gala at the historic Stonewall Jackson Hotel was fabulous. The hotel is easy to locate, thanks to very large signage above the hotel.

Drop off, registration and parking were quite easy. Both rooms were quite clean. We found them a smidge small but comfortable. The sheets were crisply clean and felt wonderful to sleep upon.

The gala set up was easy to traverse between the open bars, auction items and light food offerings. The lobby and bar area provided seating for those weary of standing.

The dinner offerings of crab cakes or steak were acceptable. The steak was was served a little cool BUT it was so tender, it could be cut with a fork.

The dessert offering was divine. Four small desserts on one plate. Yum, yum, yummy.

A lovely hotel, welcoming staff, clean rooms, etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Commagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
780 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 795 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel - a historic building, spacious, nicely refurbished, central location, and welcoming staff. It's classified as a three star and I would say it's an excellent 3 star. There are no bell boys and doormen but you get good value for money here (on a Monday night anyway) and we booked the breakfast inclusive rate on the hotel's website.

The front desk boys were welcoming, efficient and friendly and booked us a table for dinner at the very interesting and close by - "Mill Street Grill". Our room was high and quiet as I'd requested and it was well appointed. The internet was complimentery and unlike some others, we had no trouble with it and had enough bandwidth to skype. If I had to nit pick I would say that I was slightly disappointed with the view which I requested and it should have been better. But as the room had only one window, it was a little restricted and dark. Nevertheless I would return and recommend it to others simply because it delivered 99% of everything we expected and exceeded our expectations in some other areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro,TN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in the SJH after having a cancelled flight in DC due to Sandy. The town is very cute and I wish we had another night to spend there. Free parking and easy check in. The room was well appointed. One complaint is the small pillows, almost like squares. Good breakfast in the morning and thick walls. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utkballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The first impressions are excellent -- a wonderful lobby which reflects the Stonewall Jackson's history--good bones, good genes. And the desk is friendly and efficient. The downtown location is first-rate, whether you're visiting the adjacent Shakespeare Theatre, as we were, or the Woodrow Wilson Library, as we have in the past, or the excellent local college. But that's where the praise ends. I must say the reservations web page forewarned us that our king room in the older wing was smaller than rooms in the newer addition, but I did not expect a room that was smaller, more cramped than I might encounter in lower-budget chain motels. It even lacked a work desk. But that turned out not to matter. The Wifi connection was down for all of the three days and two nights we were there. The desk provided an Ethernet cord, but the plug-in was beside the door to the bathroom, and when I held my laptop on my lap on a chair, I should not have bothered. That connection was so painfully slow I never tried again. This is a deal-breaker for me as for returning there on our next Shakespeare stopover. Then there was breakfast in Market 24. Our waiter was MIA. It took forever to get any attention to order a la carte. And so long for the order to arrive, the omelet was lukewarm and rather dry. (--I gather the kitchen is in the basement and food has to be sent up by dumbwaiter--certainly, an apt name for our server.) And, oh yes, when we arrived in our own car with sufficient luggage for our 7-day trip, there was no doorman -- self-parking only in the nearby city garage -- and as far as I could tell, there was nary a bellman on the premises during the 2-day stay. This should be a first-rate hotel, but it fails in too many ways.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oaktownboy_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, we are sorry we did not live up to your expectations. We will agree, our wireless experience is currently ineffective. While we are improving the WIFI system with a total, comprehensive upgrade in the next month or so, we hope it will not be too little too late and prevent you from visiting us again in the future. We would relish the opportunity to win back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very nice clean hotel. My room was super clean with a comfortable bed. After arriving late the first night we had a delicious dinner at the bar. It was not cheap though. Over 30 dollars for a salad with grilled chicken and a sandwich. The hotel offers a breakfast buffet (charge) that offered a fruit/yogurt bar, cereal, eggs, fried potatoes, sausage, grits, oatmeal,bagels, toast and pastries. We had an opportunity to do some shopping around town. Cute craft stores all over. The hotel had a large indoor pool and hot tub. I want to return with my husband because I loved it so much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Recently visited here on a business trp. Stayed four nights. Great Hotel, very clean. The only thing that was not so great was the bed. The pillows are small and uncomfortable, and the sheets and bedding just don't feel right. Spent a lot of time just trying to get comfortable. Would stay here again, but would bring my own pillow! Great location for touring the historic downtown area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TANDJOHIO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
798 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
354 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing