We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We went for our 17th wedding anniversary, having never been to Staunton before. The hotel was fabulous! The staff was friendly and helpful; the food at the breakfast butfet was wonderful; and every aspect of the hotel was spotlessly clean.

We had a complimentary bottle of champagne chilled and waiting for us in our room when we arrived with a note wishing us a happy anniversary. The room was smaller than most chain hotel rooms, but still large enough to be comfortable and impeccably clean. We had free wi-fi and for a very small fee had a refrigerator in our room. The staff was very helpful in suggesting dining options and activities, and even saved us when we had a clothing emergency and needed a safety pin!

The hotel is centrally located and everything is within walking distance. The parking garage kept us from getting soaked in the thunderstorm that heralded our arrival. The pool and hot tub were average, but still pleasant after a day of walking around. Anyone who says this hotel was 'average' must not have traveled much or stayed at many chain hotels. Yes, the soap and shampoo were small, but again, a frequent traveler knows to pack extra or ask the front desk for more!

I highly recommend staying at the Stonewall Jackson if you are looking for a quality hotel at a reasonable price that goes the extra in service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    376
    76
    16
    6
See reviews for
285
513
51
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Was disappointed with the bedding. Sheet's did not fit the bed! No conditioner, refilled or half used shampoo and lotion. Pool not much to talk about. Location good. Furniture in foyer needs replacing. Beds fair. Nothing to write home about!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlosieRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
156 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

This was one of the more expensive hotels we stayed in during our tour of Virginia but it did not disappoint.Well appointed rooms, reasonably priced breakfast buffet and free Internet. a rather unusual town and I would advise avoiding the free town trolley which attracts some rather strange local people.If you are looking for good value Grill food you could do worse than try the Mill directly opposite the hotel car park.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stonewall Jackson Hotel, a perfectly average, business hotel, its a bed, its a room not much more to be said. Pretty much what you would expect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

It's a little pricey and hard to find but well worth it! Great old ambience but very comfortable room with great mattress. It's right by Staunton's beautiful, historic downtown with plenty of restaurants and shops. I'm coming back for a mini-vacation this fall!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fulwiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, oh
Level Contributor
165 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel is modernized, clean, and comfortable. But its greatest benefit is that it is right next door to the American Shakespeare Center. Also, Staunton is a lovely, historic town with several interesting sites, including the Woodrow Wilson museum and library.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkfcleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappahannock, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I just returned from my second stay at the Stonewall Jackson where I was attending an annual conference. This is a great hotel for anyone staying in the Staunton area. It has been remodeled and outfitted with all the amenities while still retaining its historic charm. The staff was welcoming, the rooms were comfortable and the conference facilities were very good. The room service menu was a little limited but that didn't pose a problem because the hotel is very centrally located with within walking distance to many great restaurants and shops. Staunton is a great walking town with many historic properties and the Mary Baldwin college grounds close by. The hotel is also right next door to the Black Friars Shakespeare theater. I definitely plan to return for a weekend stay to see a show at the Black Friars and to stay at the Stonewall Jackson again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvn4vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
793 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
354 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing