We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel, Check-In Delay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2007

A good quality downtown hotel with pleasant ambience and excellent service. Be aware that the hotel caters to conventions and this can cause a check-in delay when previous conference checks out (note the 12 noon check-out time). We couldn't get our Q-Q room until nearly 5pm even though there did not appear to be many (any?) others waiting for their room. However, front desk was kind enough to honor our request for higher floor though they state that they don't normally do this. Cleaning staff was still very busy making up rooms, even after 5pm.
Location is great for shopping and dining. Unlike another review, we were very pleased with nearby restaurants: Mill St Tavern and L'Italia are each only one block away. Elevator from lower level parking to ground floor can be used to eliminate some of the hills.
B&B rate (full breakfast and parking included) is a good deal if you want a full breakfast.
Assuming earlier review is correct in stating that King rooms are smaller and in older part of hotel (this appeared to be the case looking at the room diagrams), we choose the Q-Q (double Queen room. Our preference is normally for a King room that frees up space so there is also a sofa or at least a recliner. However, such a preference is apparently unavailable here.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coon_Rapids_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,180 - 1,186 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2007

The hotel is excellent and functions in a manner far above average as a bed and breakfast etablishment, which is really what it is, only on a grand scale.
The restaurant is only open on Friday and Saturday evenings. On any other evening, it would seem that food is available at the bar area, where tonight, young chaps in baseball caps lounged on the bar whilst they watched the television.
Room service perhaps? Well, as is written on the menu, 'Call for availability.'
Staunton as a metropolis is not well served with restaurants. Avoid at all times 'Kays' and also the very fetching diner, which is not a diner at all and whose interior and food is belied by its beautiful aluminium exterior.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roderigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2008

Thank you for your kind comments. One item of note: Sorrels casual dining is now serving dinner throughout the week (typically closed Su/Mo) Our restaurant, 24 Market is open daily for breakfast. We were sorry to hear of your bad dining experience at one of the local restaurants. There are a number of solid restaurants within a short walk of the hotel, I was surprised to hear that you did not find many options that suited you. We would be happy to recommend a restaurant based on the type of dining experience you are looking for during your next trip down to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

We stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel for a weekend getaway and we had a great time. The hotel was very nice, rooms were clean, mattresses were comfy and a nice bathroom with good water pressure. We had booked the B&B package which include free breakfast. Breakfast was a buffet that was pretty good, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, sausage gravy, fruit and a nice selection of breads and pastries. We could have also ordered off the menu (didn't even look to see what they had to offer).

The City of Staunton is really nice. Lots of neat little shops and antique stores (this is a small town so the close early on Saturday and many are not opened on Sunday). We went to see a movie at the Visulite (---) movie theater, one of two old theaters downtown. The Visulite specializes in foreign and independent films (we saw Waitress which was really good). The other old theater is the Dixie (---) which shows your standard movies. We had lunch on Saturday at the Pullman (---) which is in the old train station, the atmosphere was neat, the food so/so. And then for diner we went back over to the rail line this time eating in the old freight depot at the Depot Grill (---) which was very good, I especially liked the Apple Dumpling I got for desert.

All and all a great town. Be sure to visit Gypsy Hill Park and if you have your kids along get a ride on the Gypsy Express (---). They have a great farmers market on Saturday morning from 7 to noon.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BK_Travel_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The historic Stonewall Jackson is a beautiful hotel. We were greeted warmly at check in and our room was clean and comfortable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank skipandlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luvmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelooor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
878 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
213 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range: $123 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing