We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Depot Grill

The Depot Grill
Ranked #6 of 129 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant's interior is a beautiful, loving restoration of an old train station, and retains some of the feel of a "depot" while serving wonderful meals with friendly, but unobtrusive service. You will enjoy the ribs and their sandwich platters especially. For french fry lovers, theirs are that perfect mix of tender and crispy that fries are supposed to achieve. The beer selection included local and Virginia breweries as well as the national brands.

When you are in Staunton (and you should make a point to be), by all means seek them out. Look for the two cabooses outside and the happy customers smiling as they leave!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeduffus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    185
    50
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We love traveling and when we asked for a nice restaurant within walking distance of the Stonewall Jackson Hotel, the clerk suggested the Depot Grill. We were NOT disappointed. It was a pleasant walk to the restaurant and the food was excellent. I had tuna and it came overcooked. The very nice young man waiter brought me another just as quick as that! The ambiance which was directly next to the train depot, was fascinating. Prices were fine, food was good, location was super and it gave us something to walk to and enjoy! Would highly recommend them and if returning to Staunton, I would go there again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daman24
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best service ask for Rachel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Rachel knows service. Drinks never went empty, she kept checking back and quickly corrected a problem with the salad specail. Ribs are the best I've had. Great play to eat, the food is alwsys excellent !

Helpful?
Thank daman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
1 review
“Pleasantly Surprised !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We were there for dinner 5/3/14 for dinner. Out of towner's and ended up here because of favorable reviews.
Excellent food & service - we had the Seafood Sizzler and the Grilled Ribeye. Both were great choices, they give you a ton of food and we had the cream of crab soup for an appetizer (yum) ! Got our food in no time flat even though it was a Saturday night and pretty packed. We had no room for desert ! Very cool set up and decor. Hope to make it back again next time we're back down in the area!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karaokedreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice place, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

The ribs were awesome and the smoked chicken was very good. The vintage building of the old rail depot is nice also.

Helpful?
Thank Sergiy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Depot Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing