We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite restaurant in Staunton”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Depot Grill

The Depot Grill
Ranked #6 of 129 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Staunton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had dinner there twice on a recent visit to Staunton. Food and service are excellent and the staff is very friendly, Will go back the next time I am In Staunton.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    185
    50
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Food and Attentive Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went for lunch on a weekday, and the restaurant wasn't crowded at all. The building is interesting. Food was quite good and the waitress we had was great. She not only gave good service, she wrote out complete directions for us to go up Shenandoah Mountain to see fall leaves - because the Skyline Drive had been closed by the government shut-down. Her friendly and helpful attitude really made this a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Saturday night so very full but we were given a 25 minute wait then seated in 5. Staff really attentive and very friendly. The restaurant is in the old railroad depot above town and has a nice feel to it..

Food was excellent - we had crab and ribs, both really well cooked, full of flavour and accompanied by local wine and beer. Definitely think we made the right choice - we were well looked after despite the crowds and would definitely recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuffer81A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was decent but wait time was long”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

5 of us went there last night for my birthday dinner. We went early because it was a Saturday night about 530pm. We were seated almost right away. But after we ordered we waited and waited for our food to come out. We had a 4yr old with us who got pretty cranky without food. Appetizer came fairly quickly but the entreestook forever. Food was good not exceptional. Service was good and she did apologize for the wait. If it had been busy like it was when we left I could understand the wait better. This was my first time eating here. Not sure I would choose it again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asv1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very busy on a Sunday afternoon, but excellent service and meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Finding out our first choice of restaurant for Sunday lunch just had a tour bus group arrive, we went around the corner to The Depot Grill, which is next to the train station in Staunton. Parking lot had a lot of cars and we wondered about waiting there, too, but with only two of us for lunch we were seated right away and had a few minutes to look at the menu, which has many good choices, from sandwiches to salads and tasty-sounding entrees. Our waiter came along and took our drinks order, then came back soon with salads and rolls. Fairly ordinary salads, but our main dishes, ahi tuna and BBQ ribs, were generous, hot and very good. The tuna was cooked just the way it was ordered. The half-rack of ribs, with side of mashed potatoes, was a good-sized portion, tender and easy to cut, with a good sauce. We skipped desert, but were quite pleased with our meal and the prompt service, even though the Sunday crowd filled almost every table. Obviously a popular choice for Sunday lunch and we can see why.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Depot Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing