We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kid friendly and great food”
Review of The Depot Grill

The Depot Grill
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Kid friendly and great food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Big paper on the table with a bucket of crayons, very very friendly service, great margarita, fantastic caramelized onion burger....yummy brownie sundae! And the kids loved climbing the train bridge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    192
    51
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
542 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Choose the enclosed deck area for a better dining experience”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on our drive from WDC to White Sulphur Springs – chosen because Staunton is a good halfway point and one member of our party was there many years ago and wanted to revisit. It's got an extremely impressive mirrored bar with shining displays of bottles of liquor, however the dining room we were seated in – to the left of the bar as you walk in, the section that looked like part of the original depot – was rather dark and felt a bit rundown (there was only one window for the entire room). The frosted screens separating the booth tables along the outer wall, while serving a good purpose and quite useful, seemed a bit shabby. Service was fine, we had bison burgers, and firecracker shrimp, nothing remarkable but fairly adequate. Probably better to sit in the section near the bar, which while not as atmospheric without the historic decorations and furnishings, would feel less grungy, being a glass enclosed section with a view and more natural light.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great meal, service, Fun railroad history visit”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Station restaurant is old, but that's part of it's charm. Interesting historical write-up, antique seating, gorgeous huge bar, outstanding service from Caleh, delicious food, reasonable prices. Will definitely return when in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CATXVAchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome supporter of local farms!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went here today after a farm tour of Polyface farms in Swoop. We are on our way home from Texas so we looked for a restaurant that carried Polyface products that was on our way home. We settled on the Depot Grill based on that and our boys love of trains (we have 4 boys and they are all train lovers- our 2 girls are pretty big fans too!). The special was "The Polyface Burger"! All us biggers (my husband , me, 15 year old and 8 year old) all got the special. The 7 & 3 year old got kids meals ( which were huge!), the 5 year old got an appetizer ( was so big he had tons of leftovers) and the 2 year old got mashed potatoes after I confirmed they were made from real potatoes and not from a box :)
I have to say this was the best meal we have had thus far on our trip ( from TX to PA) and we always seek out non-chain restaurant. The waitress confirmed that they use local farmers as much as possible- local meats and produce. This is important to us and I wish more of our restaurant in TX did this. The food was great and service was fast. The waitress was sweet and the kids loved her. The atmosphere was wonderful and they welcomed our large family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Txfamily8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best ribs ever”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A great quaint railroad station like location with lots of room inside. Prices were reasonable and the meals were great. try the bb bibs with the "rub" -- excellent

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaorVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Depot Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Depot Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing