We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Review of Mill Street Grill

Mill Street Grill
Ranked #3 of 132 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Mill Street Grill is a medium-priced, full-service restaurant located in the Shenandoah Valley. Already an established name, Mill Street Grill is also a name synonymous with quality. At Mill Street Grill everything is made fresh daily and based on our own original recipes. We feature homemade soups, sauces and dressings made from the finest ingredients, with hand cut steaks, fresh seafood, garden salads and the best barbeque ribs in the Valley.Full Gluten free menu avaliable as well as Vegeterian items. We balance good quality food with fast, fun, efficient service. All served in the cozy confines of a turn of the century flour mill. Customers always get their money's worth at Mill Street Grill. From our opening 1992, our goal has been to be the most consistent restaurant in the area, and our large numbers of regular customers prove that we have succeeded. No one is a stranger at Mill Street Grill, because we treat our customers better than family.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our "early bird" dinners in this historical building in downtown Staunton. Our server was very attentive, the bread and apple butter were awesome and the meal was delicious. The garlic and buttery mashed potatoes were "yummy" and the chicken breast was moist and tender. The peppermint ice cream added a nice final touch to a great meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJJINSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    303
    88
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Wow! Huge portions (Salads were amazing!!) and we were offered chips and homemade salsa (complimentary) since we could not eat the bread (gluten). What a nice menu. Wish we could try it again. This restaurant is quite busy since it is highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Concerningreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mill Street Grill”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was the first time we ate in this establishment. The menu offered a lot of choices from full meals to pasta dinners to sandwiches and salads. After our order was taken we were served a small loaf of homemade bread with cherry butter. Just delicious. My chicken salad wrap had a lot of texture and crunch. The experience ended with a few tablespoons of a mint sorbet. I'm looking forward to our next stop in Staunton!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find in Staunton”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had an excellent meal, great service and were surprised by how varied the wine list was. The meals are really large so we shared one, and our wait person was good enough to share it out in the kitchen. The resturant was very busy the day we were there and it was a Monday, that alone speaks volumes about a place. While it was busy a conversation across the table was still possible in normal conversational voice.
We would return if we get back to the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waynesville,nc
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oh My Gosh!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We ate dinner at the Mill Grill and were totally blown away by the tasty food. The bread they served was heavenly. We ordered the baked goat cheese appetizer which was great. The ribs were delicious, but we took those with us because we were full on the goat cheese. Oh my, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeEttaWaynesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mill Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing