We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite Virginia restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Street Grill

Mill Street Grill
Ranked #3 of 127 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Fusion, Gastropub, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mill Street Grill is a medium-priced, full-service restaurant located in the Shenandoah Valley. Already an established name, Mill Street Grill is also a name synonymous with quality. At Mill Street Grill everything is made fresh daily and based on our own original recipes. We feature homemade soups, sauces and dressings made from the finest ingredients, with hand cut steaks, fresh seafood, garden salads and the best barbeque ribs in the Valley.Full Gluten free menu avaliable as well as Vegeterian items. We balance good quality food with fast, fun, efficient service. All served in the cozy confines of a turn of the century flour mill. Customers always get their money's worth at Mill Street Grill. From our opening 1992, our goal has been to be the most consistent restaurant in the area, and our large numbers of regular customers prove that we have succeeded. No one is a stranger at Mill Street Grill, because we treat our customers better than family.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
2 reviews
“Our favorite Virginia restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We live north of Richmond and happened upon the Mill Street Grill two years ago. We return whenever we have the chance because it is our favorite place to eat. We loved the food, beverages, service and the attention to detail of the entire meal experience. We have recommended the Mill Street Grill to several of our friends when they are in the Staunton area and all have reported being impressed with a great meal. You simply cannot go wrong eating at this wonderful establishment. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    279
    79
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Ribs and Steak, Good Service, but Arrive Early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We ate here as a couple on March 14, 2013, a Thursday. We arrived relatively early, just after they opened at 4 p.m. We were there until about 5:30, and by 5 p.m. the place was busy and filling up. Overall, I would recommend eating here for the quality of the food items we sampled, and the courteous, friendly service we received.

My wife had the filet mignon which was done perfectly to order, while I had the baby back ribs in the house BBQ sauce which was virtually fall-off-the-bone tender, and tasty. Portions were relatively generous for these dishes. Our bill with these items, an appetizer, and a bottle of Virginia red wine, and tax, was about $96. This was acceptable given the general quality of the meal with a bottle of wine, compared to similar quality dining experiences elsewhere.

The service was provided by a young man who was friendly, courteous, and did not mind chatting a bit with us (as we were visiting from out of state) about Staunton-related topics.

Parking was amply available in the paid parking area (free after 6 p.m., which is convenient if you are taking in a performance at the Blackfriars Theatre, as we did afterward) adjacent to the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SummerTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good food in a chaotic environment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

A solid restaurant with good food in a historic building. It will get a bit crowded on the weekends and plan for there to be alot of families. This isn't the most romantic eatery, but it delivers some pretty tasty foods.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Levi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Use of Historic Building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great dinner here. Place was packed and the vibe was very positive.

Wait person was excellent. He knew most of the patrons sitting near us and referred to them by name and even suggested entrees based on his knowledge of their preferences. The mark of a great wait person.

I had the crab cakes and they were tender and mostly crab meat and very flaky. We will return to try additional entrees.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Treehouse-2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great place you can't go wrong. Fun atmosphere and really cool intersting decor. Good menu. great service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony0146484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing