We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food in bad weather” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Street Grill

Mill Street Grill
Ranked #3 of 127 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Fusion, Gastropub, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mill Street Grill is a medium-priced, full-service restaurant located in the Shenandoah Valley. Already an established name, Mill Street Grill is also a name synonymous with quality. At Mill Street Grill everything is made fresh daily and based on our own original recipes. We feature homemade soups, sauces and dressings made from the finest ingredients, with hand cut steaks, fresh seafood, garden salads and the best barbeque ribs in the Valley.Full Gluten free menu avaliable as well as Vegeterian items. We balance good quality food with fast, fun, efficient service. All served in the cozy confines of a turn of the century flour mill. Customers always get their money's worth at Mill Street Grill. From our opening 1992, our goal has been to be the most consistent restaurant in the area, and our large numbers of regular customers prove that we have succeeded. No one is a stranger at Mill Street Grill, because we treat our customers better than family.
Middlebrook, Va.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food in bad weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

we went to Mill Street on 3/6 after receiving 17 inches of snow and had great service and great food in spite of # of staff not able to get in due to the weather, we have been going there since Terry and Ron opened the restaurant, we have found the food consistently excellent and the service as well, it is our favorite place to go-prices and drinks might be slightly higher than other places but still you get more for your money!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    279
    79
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

It is overpriced. Filet dish was $26.95 and most of the items were between $15-$25. Food is decent but better value for the money can be found. It was very crowded and if you happen to walk by the kitchen you are liable to get run over by the staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a great meal here. THey have a gluten-free menu which is so helpful. My husband had I shared the quail and a rib dish.
Very good and fairly priced.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pbo915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“what happened here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

have come over for dinner many timesin the past. last nite, though the rest. was only 1/2 full, it took us eons to get initial service and then over an hour for food. this was a problem when you have a diabetic son who must eat given his shot prior to a meal. i mentioned it to no avail. mine took another 15 mins after and when i asked for the owner, it was if i were being indicted (and yes i was polite), well 1/2 of the staff didnt show up. i am tolerant in restaurants, and would have understood but the attitude! and to boot, my meal was fair AT BEST. terrible way to run a business!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank coanetinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regis56, Owner at Mill Street Grill, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Sir I am sorry you were not happy with our service that night. We got you son's chicken fingers out to him fairly fast.. We had 18 inches of snow on the ground and was barely able to get open. We were doing our best as I try to explain to you.We had 3 cooks and 3 servers working that night. By the time you order your stir-fry we were crazy busy. In 21 years we have never done any business like this when it snow. But the power was out all over town and Mill Street Grill was the only restaurant in town that was open serving dinners that night. We feed 200 people in about a 2 hour span. I will refund your meal since you did not like it. Just send a self addressed envelope and I will return the money for your meal.
Thank you,
Terry Holmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We walked to the Mill Street Grill after the Wine Festival at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel during President's Day weekend. Although we had a to wait awhile for a seat, it was well worth it. The bread we had before the meal was super tasty, the appetizer was great, we had a vegetarian meal and one with meat, and then after dinner they gave us a complimentary cup of peppermint ice cream. The restaurant was well priced and the experience was wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LAURA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mill Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing