We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home cooking and plenty of it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mrs. Rowe's Restaurant and Bakery

Mrs. Rowe's Restaurant and Bakery
Ranked #11 of 120 Restaurants in Staunton
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good home cooking and plenty of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Rowe's makes Staunton famous. Good Southern cooking. They also have carryout and a bakery with yummy cookies and pies. Large rooms suitable for meetings. Friendly service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank professoressadarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    198
    115
    45
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a wide following”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

although this is not my style of eating, it is a very popular restaurant. People traveling north and south on Interstate 81 make special efforts to stop here to eat. Many locals are also quite fond of this eating place It is a family style restaurant with down home cooking.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetiebarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A step above interstate food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

When travelling, I make a serious attemp to avoid the chiain restaurants and quick food places that serve the interstate. Although consistant, they are consistantly bla.

We discovered Mr.s Rowes some years ago and frequent the restaurant when we can. Althougth I can not compare it to Mom's cooking, it is a refreshing treat for normal fair.

This trip was no exception. Bad weather and long days forced put me into the restaurant at 7:50 at night whn the close at 8:00. No problem. The hostess was friendly and understanding and although late, I never felt rushed or unwanted. The food was tasty, served at the proper temperature and fairly priced. We will be back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gramps-nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pretty unforgettable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Busy parking lot and too popular to advertise but we fail to see why. Bland, rather ordinary food prepared without inspiration. We shall not return. Oh - the spoonbread was pretty good, however.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank celem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't know what all the fuss is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Maybe it was oversold to me, but I never have figured out what all the excitement is about. It is average food with average service. The prices are ambitious for what you get in my opinion. I don't have anything bad to say but I don't have much all that good to say either. If there is an upside it would have to be the pies. They do know their way around a pie. Eat elsewhere and go to Rowe's for the pie.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs. Rowe's Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Mrs. Rowe's Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing