We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An inconspicuous new treasure”
Review of Mi Rancho

Mi Rancho
Ranked #47 of 130 Restaurants in Staunton
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An inconspicuous new treasure”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Mourning the loss of Jalisco, we were thrilled to find this new entrant into the restaurant scene in Staunton. It is located in an unprepossessing building away from downtown, but is well worth the short trip,.
We started with an excellent guacamole dip (and the complementary salsa and chips).
My wife feasted on one of the many combination platters, and found it very good, especially the tamale. She added a taco side, which was also very good. (There was enough to take home a late-night snack.)
I chose the enchilada supreme (four different ones) and found it delicious. Although the four were nested together and bathed in the same sauce (and lettuce and sour cream atop), the flavors and textures of each was distinctive. (I gobbled mine all down.)
Overall, the entrees were a bit spicier than we were accustomed to, but very well seasoned.
For dessert, I chose the Tres Leches cake (not on the menu but on a flyer) and found it as delicious as the other reviewers have. My wife chose the flan, which she pronounced very good. Both portions were generous.
The service was prompt and polite, and the dishes prepared quickly and served hot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValleyGuy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I love this place. Great food and service. The Tres Leches cake is awesome. Their combinations are good, but so are the specials. Lunch is a steal for how awesome everything is. I can't stress enough on the tres leches cake, though. Get it and some coffee? Mm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lufox2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice mex experience”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We're from Texas and have had a heckuva time finding Mexican food that we like here, thank goodness Mi Rancho has scratched that itch! We like their wonderful tacos, great relents, quest fun dido and all of the sauces served on and with them. Yay! Mexican food in small town Virginia!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shakeit_staunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, VA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unassuming place but the cooks know what they're doing!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Some friends clued me into the location in Waynesboro, so we were excited to try the new Staunton location. This building has been through several unsuccessful restaurants but may have found something more permanent. This a classic little joint with the same Mexican menu you have probably seen in other places. The staff is small but very friendly and helpful.

You get the standard blender-style salsa and tortilla chips in a basket when you are seated, which is always good. The "numbers and letters" part of the menu is as expected, but I was really impressed when I ordered the Arroz con Camarones. The shrimp were cooked perfectly - tender with great grill flavor. I tried it a second time and it was also good. When a friend tried it a third time, I knew the cooks must be good. Consistent dishes, always hot, cooked correctly. Nice.

I encourage anyone in town or travelling to try this place. Support this as a local restaurant as the west end of town needs these places! If you are downtown, it's only 5 minutes west on Beverley Street. Yes, I know Beverley is one-way going east downtown, but a few blocks west of town it goes both directions!

They do have daily specials so don't be afraid to try them!
.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis24401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was greeted as soon as I walked in. Sat at a nice table and chips and my drink was there quickly. The servers were very friendly, and the service was very fast.The food was fast and authentic Mexican. Everything was excellent. I took my wife the next day and she also realy enjoied it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Rancho also viewed

 

Been to Mi Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing