We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunspots Studios & Glassblowing
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful glass to has a nice selection

This shop is located in downtown Staunton. The building is old and quaint. The front has a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
jlp414
,
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
It's always a Different Experience

We have been to several glass blowing studio's and each one is different. So, it is worth making a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
SINROSSCO
,
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Read all 236 reviews
  
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
163
62
7
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
62
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass blower beautiful glass for sale blown glass make your own glass art his craft whole process answers questions beautiful objects fun to watch seven days a week one of a kind downtown staunton awesome experience on display jewelry
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This shop is located in downtown Staunton. The building is old and quaint. The front has a wonderful display of glass ornaments, vases, decorative, jewelry, cups and mugs.
The rear of the store has a glass blowing workshop. Customers are invited to sit and n stadium seats and watch the glass blowers work.
Overall it was a nice experience to visit this shop and studio.

Thank jlp414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to several glass blowing studio's and each one is different. So, it is worth making a stop at any you may encounter. The city of Staunton and the area offers a diverse collection of artists. Glass blowing is one of them and it is just so amazing how one can be so creative in mind. The Sunspot is open seven days a week and handicap accessible. Need to get there before four. Seating is available to witness this great art in the making. Take your children or grandchildren as well. Who knows, you may have a future glassblower among you.

Thank SINROSSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Had a great visit to this Studio. The glass blowing was very good to watch and the guy was very helpful with all the questions asked of him. Great to watch. The products in the show room were varied and some quiet spectacular. Good place to visit.

Thank dnh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

I have taken the kids here several times to watch the glass blowing demonstration, doesn't cost anything and a good place for us to go on a rainy day. They also sell Pandora in the girls like it when I buy them that. You should check it out!

Thank david y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Fantastic shop with beautiful glass-work, but the highlight is the glass blowing demonstration. As the craftsman was at work, he provided a full narrative of what he was doing and took questions from those observing. Through it all, he never missed a beat and produced a wonderful piece of art. Very informative!

Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018

We've visited Sunspots before, but not on Memorial Day weekend when they have the Virginia Hot Glass Festival. Besides the usual shop area with lots of beautiful glass objects of all kinds, there was an ongoing glass blowing demonstration. Also the second floor had several vendors with even more glass objects as well as a small glass blowing demonstration and a wine tasting from Barren Ridge Vineyards (very tasty chardonnay).

Thank likebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

I know some of the artists here, and was thrilled to be invited to the "Hot Glass Festival". I had been here before once in a larger group, and wanted to take more time. There is a large showroom with the works of many artists, and things to purchase for a wide range of budgets. I have to contain myself, because I can reason out why I need to buy 5 invisibly-flawed wine glasses for $100, even if I know I have no room in my cabinets. The hardest thing is to choose amongst this museum-like offering. During the festival, the second floor is also full of artists with everything from amazing fine art vases to earrings, a flame glass demonstration, and a local winery wine tasting! The most special experience is just watching the glass being blown in the pavilion. I could sit on the benches and watch this for hours. It is a bit warm considering the 2300 degree furnaces, but there is generous water and refreshments, and in this Spring weather, the garage doors are opened for a fine breeze. If you guys are in Staunton, it is definitely worth it to visit this unique studio! I saw several brave people actually learning this craft on my visit, and believe me, it is not as easy as the experienced artists make it look!

Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougsheridan, Owner at Sunspots Studios & Glassblowing, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

So kind! Thanks for this lovely post

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

Awesome! I highly recommend this to families, couples or even a solo trip. The creations are gorgeous! The demonstrations are amazing! The people are friendly. Plan a trip today!

Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018

Very interesting to watch the craftsmen blow glass, listen to them explain how it's done and see the finished products in the showroom.

Thank earman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018

We were in Staunton for a weekend siminar and decided to spend Friday afternoon checking around the town when we stumbled upon Sunspots Studios. Everyone was extremely friendly and they showed us directly to the glassblowing demo that was going on at the time. LOVED watching them work ! Fascinating art ! Loved how they made different textures on the hot glass. I wish they had explained a little more while working but understand the concentration that it takes ! They do have posters explaining the process which you can follow as they work. There was a high school class there also and they were all fascinated as well ! This is a great opportunity to learn and discover ! And of course, they have their shop which you have to walk through to get out - beautiful work and very appropriately priced - but still alot was out my spontaneous purchase ability ! May stop back and see what they are creating on my next trip to Staunton!

Thank SusieQCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunspotsStudios, Owner at Sunspots Studios & Glassblowing, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018

Dear Susie,
We are very glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience!

Best regards,
Sunspots Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews