We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Sunspots Studios & Glassblowing
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Watch Art Happen at Sunspots Studios! See live glass blowing demonstrations daily until 4pm. Open 7 days a week. Our gallery/gift shop is filled with colorful hand-blown glass made in our studios. Vases, bird feeders, oil candles, drinking glasses, ornaments and more glitter in our gallery. Blow your own ornament with the assistance of one of our glass blowers. We also carry local and American artisan-made jewelry and accessories, including Alex and Ani jewelry. Don't miss Virginia's most unique shopping experience.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Watching a glass blower take a glob of glass at 2000 degrees and turn it into a piece of art.
Then you get to blow your own art piece with the artist's help
Enjoyable, educational, peaceful, and cheap

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    57
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
480 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Such beauty, craftsmanship.Can't really say enough. You have to go and see the work to appreciate it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank samtrip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Like being in a rainbow”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Sunspots is a terrific shop with lots of colored glass ornaments and decorations. Things for the garden, Christmas, suncatchers, housewares, etc. The highlight is watching the glass blowers and then helping make your own ornament. You can purchase one of the ornaments after it's been made. Very cool. My teenaged granddaughter was entranced.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank awryalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“LOVE Sunspots”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We live in Staunton and have been frequenting Sunspots for years. Our kids, who are now 8,12 & 14 have always loved it and still enjoy going in to watch the artisans work. There is a lot of breakable stuff, of course, so if you have a little one who likes to touch everything, I recommend having one adult take them to the viewing area. They have a "Make Your Own" ornament activity which is cool. Also, the jewelry area has a good selection. They carry Pandora and the staff is super helpful. Great stop on tour of Staunton area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank imhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hands On Experience”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We watched a gentleman who worked there make a glass ornament with our son from beginning to end. Very interesting and wonderful experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunspots Studios & Glassblowing also viewed

 

Been to Sunspots Studios & Glassblowing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing