We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Walnut Hills Campground and RV Park
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Staunton
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Comfort Inn(Staunton)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (141)
    Filter reviews
    141 results
    Traveler rating
    69
    41
    15
    6
    10
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    69
    41
    15
    6
    10
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsdeluxe cabinfire pitpull thrutent campingfeed the ducksfull hookupsfishing pondcamp storelarge ponddecent wifilevel gravelbathrooms and showerstent spotspecial halloweenwooden swingclose to homegrassy area
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    121 - 126 of 141 reviews
    Reviewed November 18, 2013

    My husband and I wanted a nice little getaway, on a limited budget, for our 10th anniversary.
    We rented one of the deluxe cabins & it was the perfect place.
    Spacious enough that we weren't on top of each other every time we tried to move, yet had a very cozy atmosphere.
    Everything was very clean.
    Our view of the lake was also wonderful.
    Other campers were friendly & respectful.
    Only "issue" was the camp store was only open from 9-6, so we never got to go there (even to check out). But they may have been the "out of season" hours.
    Overall, a great experience & we would recommend them to anyone. We even want to go back with the children.

    • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank jmbpicker
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Erika Z, Manager at Walnut Hills Campground and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

    jmbpicker, I'm so glad that you and your husband had a lovely time and enjoyed our facilities! We take pride in providing a clean and friendly atmosphere. I am sorry that you never had a chance to see the inside of our store - during our peak season (April through October), we are open longer hours to serve all our campers. We sincerely hope to see you again soon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 25, 2013

    this place is BIG rig friendly, not for us at all. We have a small trailer and the big motorhomes were on top of us. We were in a pull thru with two big trailers on both sides, sitting in our chairs trying to relax, when they pull a BUS behind us. They but 2 trailers in 1 pull thru. Be careful you don't know this until your their. Most of their nice sites are monthly only. So now we're not camping or relaxing we're watching the owners SQUEEZE as many big trailers he can on this little plot of land. We left.

    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank jonnie n
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Erika Z, Manager at Walnut Hills Campground and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

    Jonnie, I am so sorry that you were disappointed with our campground and your site in particular. October is our busiest month and it can be difficult to accommodate everyone. However, I do hope you would be willing to give us another try during a future trip to see if we can find a site better suited to your needs.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 16, 2013

    Walnut Hills KOA was very peaceful in the evenings. The campground offers "Big Sky" views over the nearby pastures for star gazing. The KOA is close enough to the interstate (I-81) that you can hear the faint constant drone of distant semi trucks and motor cycles. Not loud enough to disturb your slumber, yet faint enough to help hum you to sleep at night.

    Too many dumb@ss dog owners in the surrounding RVs let their yappy dogs bark way too often and way too early (often during the official KOA Quiet Time). Why do dog owners pretend like nobody else can hear their stupid dog(s), and then do nothing to quiet them?

    Our cabin was clean and 95% functional in all respects. My only complaint would be the height of the platform base for the bed. It was much too high for the average adult to get into and out of easily. Having the storage area beneath the bed was a good idea (in concept). But a very impractical choice of cabinet height makes it cumbersome for those having to get up a couple times during the night. The loft area in our cabin was perfect for youngsters and teenagers.

    Most of the cabins overlook a small lake (pond) which lays central to the entire campground. In late August, they were having a very bad algae problem in the water. Making it very difficult and nearly impossible to do any fishing. Most people spent more time cleaning their tackle than they did actual fishing.

    None of the cabins appear to have ground or parking level entry. Most cabins have several steps that you have to climb up to get into the cabin. The porch areas are covered, which is great if raining, but none of them were screened-in that we could see.

    Room Tip: The "Lodge" cabin does not have much of a view of the pond and sits ob the opposite side from all the other cabins.
    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank T-Bone_Steaks
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Erika Z, Manager at Walnut Hills Campground and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

    TBone_Stakes, thank you so much for taking the time to post such a thoughtful review of our campground. As new owners, we are striving to improve the park at every turn and truly value your feedback. I do wish you had contacted our office regarding the barking dogs, as we'd like to handle these types of situations in the moment, if possible. We are also currently working on the algae situation in the lake, and hope to have it stay clear year-round, although this is a bit of a battle. Thanks again for all you had to share with us, and we hope to see you again!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

    This is the first KOA my family ever experienced. In my diesel 1982 Chevette with Thule turtle top for camping gear this Homeschool family took to the road and landed here.

    Our cabin situated on the hill overlooked the lake. The bathhouse is a bit of a hike ..... but I fell in love with KOA. It is now my preferred home away from home. I feel safe and its usually quiet and pretty wherever we go.

    Most recently I was forced off road by bad weather and decided to rent cottage with bath and kitchen. Very sweet. Clean ..... all amentities of home ....... even had fieplace / heater most welcome on that very blustery day. The power went out but hey we're campers.
    The owners attended to all guests making sure everyone was ok.

    Hosts were kind, efficient and gracious. Of course I will g back.

    • Stayed: May 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Trisha R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 26, 2013

    We only stayed one night on our way home from TN and we had our own travel trailer. Yes some of the roads are tight but passable. The sites are level and the one we had was pull through with a patio and fire pit. Restrooms are old but well taken care of and clean. And the view from the top site are unbelievable. It is a little bit of 81 but not to bad. And we had no problem with the staff, they were friendly and accomadating. It was one of the nicer KOAs we have been to. And if we travel that way again I will have no problem staying here.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank campgram
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews