We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly & Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly & Relaxing”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I wanted a nice little getaway, on a limited budget, for our 10th anniversary.
We rented one of the deluxe cabins & it was the perfect place.
Spacious enough that we weren't on top of each other every time we tried to move, yet had a very cozy atmosphere.
Everything was very clean.
Our view of the lake was also wonderful.
Other campers were friendly & respectful.
Only "issue" was the camp store was only open from 9-6, so we never got to go there (even to check out). But they may have been the "out of season" hours.
Overall, a great experience & we would recommend them to anyone. We even want to go back with the children.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmbpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika Z, Manager at Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
jmbpicker, I'm so glad that you and your husband had a lovely time and enjoyed our facilities! We take pride in providing a clean and friendly atmosphere. I am sorry that you never had a chance to see the inside of our store - during our peak season (April through October), we are open longer hours to serve all our campers. We sincerely hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    38
    13
    6
    10
See reviews for
53
40
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blanchester, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

this place is BIG rig friendly, not for us at all. We have a small trailer and the big motorhomes were on top of us. We were in a pull thru with two big trailers on both sides, sitting in our chairs trying to relax, when they pull a BUS behind us. They but 2 trailers in 1 pull thru. Be careful you don't know this until your their. Most of their nice sites are monthly only. So now we're not camping or relaxing we're watching the owners SQUEEZE as many big trailers he can on this little plot of land. We left.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika Z, Manager at Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Jonnie, I am so sorry that you were disappointed with our campground and your site in particular. October is our busiest month and it can be difficult to accommodate everyone. However, I do hope you would be willing to give us another try during a future trip to see if we can find a site better suited to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Walnut Hills KOA was very peaceful in the evenings. The campground offers "Big Sky" views over the nearby pastures for star gazing. The KOA is close enough to the interstate (I-81) that you can hear the faint constant drone of distant semi trucks and motor cycles. Not loud enough to disturb your slumber, yet faint enough to help hum you to sleep at night.

Too many dumb@ss dog owners in the surrounding RVs let their yappy dogs bark way too often and way too early (often during the official KOA Quiet Time). Why do dog owners pretend like nobody else can hear their stupid dog(s), and then do nothing to quiet them?

Our cabin was clean and 95% functional in all respects. My only complaint would be the height of the platform base for the bed. It was much too high for the average adult to get into and out of easily. Having the storage area beneath the bed was a good idea (in concept). But a very impractical choice of cabinet height makes it cumbersome for those having to get up a couple times during the night. The loft area in our cabin was perfect for youngsters and teenagers.

Most of the cabins overlook a small lake (pond) which lays central to the entire campground. In late August, they were having a very bad algae problem in the water. Making it very difficult and nearly impossible to do any fishing. Most people spent more time cleaning their tackle than they did actual fishing.

None of the cabins appear to have ground or parking level entry. Most cabins have several steps that you have to climb up to get into the cabin. The porch areas are covered, which is great if raining, but none of them were screened-in that we could see.

Room Tip: The "Lodge" cabin does not have much of a view of the pond and sits ob the opposite side f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T-Bone_Steaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika Z, Manager at Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
TBone_Stakes, thank you so much for taking the time to post such a thoughtful review of our campground. As new owners, we are striving to improve the park at every turn and truly value your feedback. I do wish you had contacted our office regarding the barking dogs, as we'd like to handle these types of situations in the moment, if possible. We are also currently working on the algae situation in the lake, and hope to have it stay clear year-round, although this is a bit of a battle. Thanks again for all you had to share with us, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snydersville
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the first KOA my family ever experienced. In my diesel 1982 Chevette with Thule turtle top for camping gear this Homeschool family took to the road and landed here.

Our cabin situated on the hill overlooked the lake. The bathhouse is a bit of a hike ..... but I fell in love with KOA. It is now my preferred home away from home. I feel safe and its usually quiet and pretty wherever we go.

Most recently I was forced off road by bad weather and decided to rent cottage with bath and kitchen. Very sweet. Clean ..... all amentities of home ....... even had fieplace / heater most welcome on that very blustery day. The power went out but hey we're campers.
The owners attended to all guests making sure everyone was ok.

Hosts were kind, efficient and gracious. Of course I will g back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Easton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We only stayed one night on our way home from TN and we had our own travel trailer. Yes some of the roads are tight but passable. The sites are level and the one we had was pull through with a patio and fire pit. Restrooms are old but well taken care of and clean. And the view from the top site are unbelievable. It is a little bit of 81 but not to bad. And we had no problem with the staff, they were friendly and accomadating. It was one of the nicer KOAs we have been to. And if we travel that way again I will have no problem staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinville, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Office staff was great, well informed about the area. While my site was okay, many of the sites were too close to the roads. Lake had massive algae bloom and needed airiation. Lots of friendly waterfowl.

Room Tip: Stay up in the top tiers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We wanted to stay in the camp ground tent area but a bad rain storm was coming through. we asked if they had a cabin and they told us they had a deluxe cabin. This was a great cabin, shower, linen already there and on bed. It was like staying in a hotel room. It was great. These deluxe cabins are nice. there was also a TV, Small kitchen with all the utensils. We went to the store and made pasta. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Quiet place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
6.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
829 reviews
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
206 reviews
6.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
363 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA

Property: Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA
Address: 484 Walnut Hills Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-6936 (Formerly Walnut Hills Campground and RV Resort)
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitch a tent, catch a fish, make a fire - come out and make a memory with your family. Camp in the shadows of 250-year-old locust and walnut trees in Virginia's beautiful Shenandoah Valley. Originally a plantation property, the 45-acre Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA is steeped in history yet offers modern conveniences. We're located near Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway and offer lake-front RV sites, shady tent sites, and cozy cabins. Not only that, we're open year-round and will be happy to see you from January through New Year's Eve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing