We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Check your linens early...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA
Save
You added Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Central VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Check your linens early...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Have stayed at Walnut Hills with our camper in the past. Fairly nice campground with lots of meandering curves.
Not much to do except hang out at your camper, walk around the lake, or play on the playground.
Expensive.
Decided to stay in the cabins for a weekend before my husband left on deployment since we had sold our camper.
Upon arriving, the cabins are SUPER tiny and cramped. The photos are incredibly deceiving. Nice view.
At bedtime, after the little one had been tucked into a bunk bed.
I pulled down the blanket in the 'master bedroom' to find the remnants of past guests. A greasy body print, and dog hair. Lots of dog hair. I immediatley contacted their 'emergency line' and explained my unhappiness and the fact that we were leaving tomorrow morning and I wanted my money back.
I then prepared to sleep in the top bunk while my husband slept on the 'couch'.
Housekeeping arrived to change out the linens. And did so very nicely.
I still told them we were leaving the next morning. I had already made hotel reservations in town.
Slept in the bunk anyway, and my husband slept on the couch anyway.
Checked out the next morning.
SInce then, I have requested my refund.
They sent a gift certificate. They do not do refunds.
I refused the gift certificate. I have NO camper and am not willing to drive three hours to sleep in their 'cabins' again.
They are very expensive for the area. You can do better.
Hope your stay is better.
We will not be back...sorry to say.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StefCentralVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
43
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastern US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

First let me say how well cared for this place is. The grounds are well kept and the facilities are clean. If you want a quiet place to park your camper or RV, this is your place! However, if you are tent camping, or you want to have some fun, make another selection. We rented two sites for 5 adults and two kids so we could set our tents up and have some family fun. The sites were of ample size, with plenty of room for our camping gear and enough parking spots for 4 vehicles. The sites were $38 per night each until the "add on's" started pilling up and they ended up being over $60 per night. The original rate was for one tent, one vehicle, and two adults per site. Each person over 4, each vehicle, and each tent cost extra ($13.50 for the small "kids" tent per night).

It didn't take long into our set up that we began to notice the "yellow shirt patrol" passing by every 5 mins to check us out. About an hour into the stay, we had our first visit to be informed of our first violation. Clip board in hand, the yellow shirt patrol informed me that I was not allowed to have a "clothes line" on the site. To which I kindly plugged in my rope lights to demonstrate their purpose was to provide light, and not to hang clothes. No ticket this time! Whew! Then came the next "officer" to visit and made us move one of the two cars off of our site. Even though they were neatly parked in the ample gravel spots directly in front of the site, I had to move the vehicle to the overflow parking lot because the rule is one vehicle per site. Keep in mind, I had to pay extra for this vehicle that can't park on our site!

We were finally in compliance with the laws, so it was time to have some fun. Unfortunately what little fun there is to have, stops at 8pm. The only entertainment is the pool and game room, both of which close at 8pm. So I guess we needed to just stay on our site and have some fun...but you can only do that until 10 because kids must be on the site and no noise is allowed from 10p-8a (which I understand). Unfortunately, the "no noise ordinance" does not include the diesel trucks that were coming in and out all night. These were likely folks returning from there trips to town to find something to do!

The web site advertised lots of activities for Dad's, as this was Father's day weekend, that didn't really occur. Fishing tournaments, horse shoes, etc. = A free hot dog for Dad on Saturday evening. There was a wagon ride for the kids and a movie in the pavillion but that's it.

We appreciated the cleanliness and the care for the property, and recommend this for an overnight camper/RV stay, but for a family vacation of tent camping, we'll try somewhere else next time!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinManEasternUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

This location recently converted to a KOA has good facilities for overnight accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We have stayed at Walnut Hills Campground twice, and are reserved again for 2011.
Excellent facility for camping! The area we stay in is very spacious, the sites are neat
and well maintained...staff is exceptional...always willing to accomodate.
This is one of our top three favorite spots for camping in Virginia....would refer anyone
wanting a great experience! Looking forward to many more trips to Walnut Hills.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annmartone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2004

The best place to visit the Shenandoah Valley and experiance peace and fun would have to be WALNUT HILLS CAMPGOUND!! I have visited numerous states and beautiful country, I love where I live!!! Just around from this campground. I can walk down the road and see a clean safe environment, there are deer and mountain views. Deer have actually eaten from my hand!! This is the best maintained and enjoyable places on earth. The people are friendly you are always welcome.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
7.2 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
6.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA

Property: Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA
Address: 484 Walnut Hills Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-6936 (Formerly Walnut Hills Campground and RV Resort)
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitch a tent, catch a fish, make a fire - come out and make a memory with your family. Camp in the shadows of 250-year-old locust and walnut trees in Virginia's beautiful Shenandoah Valley. Originally a plantation property, the 45-acre Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA is steeped in history yet offers modern conveniences. We're located near Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway and offer lake-front RV sites, shady tent sites, and cozy cabins. Not only that, we're open year-round and will be happy to see you from January through New Year's Eve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing