We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Performance!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Shakespeare Center

American Shakespeare Center
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Blackfriars Playhouse is the world's only re-creation of Shakespeare's indoor theatre. "Stunning", says Frommer's. Located in historic downtown Staunton, VA, this 300-seat Renaissance theatre offers productions of Shakespeare and classic plays year round that the Washington Post says are "shamelessly entertaining" and the Boston Globe says are "phenomenal...bursting with energy”.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Loch Arbour, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Performance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Enthursiastic actors made for a enjoyable "Merchant of Venice"..

Seating is very uncomfortable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryGo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    51
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic Shakespeare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This playhouse is an excellent place to see Shakespeare performed in an authentic atmosphere with top notch performances. My wife and I live in Georgia but have stayed in Staunton twice (traveling North) to see performances here. Well worth the visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pkrchrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Entertainment/Reaonable Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Where can you experience great cultural plays and have belly laughs all together. Up close and personal with the actors
and enjoying the arts as a learning experience .
We will return again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Such a Pleasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Last night was my first trip to the Blackfriar's Playhouse where we saw these amazing actors perform A Midsummer Night's Dream. What a night! The ensemble cast was extremely talented and beyond charming. The entertainment before the show and during intermission was also lovely. The same actors sang many well-known songs while putting their own twist on them.

I very much enjoyed how the actors played to the audience, especially those who were seated on stage. My advice to anyone who may be interested in purchasing seats in this area is that they should NOT be afraid to be a part of the play as well (actors asking them questions, sitting on laps, grabbing arms, etc.).

The only fault I can find was the temperature of the balcony and the waiting area outside of the balcony was quite warm. However, it was not bothersome enough to ruin the experience.

I cannot wait to go back to this establishment and see these talented individuals bring the works of Shakespeare to life.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank turtledovelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
“Go, go, go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great atmosphere, seats not totally comfortable but who cares. Every seat in the house is a good one. Play was excellent (Tis Pity She's a W#ore).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kahart6827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Shakespeare Center also viewed

 

Been to American Shakespeare Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing