We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dependable Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kathy's

Kathy's
Ranked #22 of 120 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ft Worth
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dependable Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stopped at Kathy's to try the breakfast for dinner. The pancakes were light and fluffy and the omelet was good as well. The service was friendly and competent. Good dependable food. They had a lot of selections which included home-style dinners as well as lots of breakfast options.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Popsquawli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    56
    32
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty yet Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stopped at Kathy's for supper as we had seen the many excellent reviews on tripadvisor. The restaurant was very clean and had a nice atmosphere. Service was quick but sparse. We received our menus and ordered our drinks, we then got our drinks and ordered our dinners, we then got our dinners & bill but never saw the waitress again. We weren't even offered refills on our drinks. The food was good but the portions were very small. I ordered a steak which consisted almost of equal amounts fat. I hate to say it but my husband and I were still hungry when we left the restaurant and went someplace else later.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast of the gods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We visit Kathy's every time we go to Staunton. The food and service are outstanding and probably the best quality for price you'll ever find. I can still taste the bacon pancakes, maple syrup and the coffee. Go and see what I'm talking about...

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MorpethMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Service was very friendly and competent. Good number of menu options. They should up the juice options though. The rolled pancakes are very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WineShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphine, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Solid Breakfast and Lunch Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I most recently enjoyed their pancakes - both buckwheat and regular. The decaf coffee is fair. Sandwiches, such as burgers are cooked properly and taste fine. Service is always friendly and professional. The manager is always warm and welcoming. So, overall pretty good basic American food in a warm and friendly environment.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kcfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kathy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing