We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Olde Staunton Inn
Nearby Hotels
Sleep Inn Staunton(Staunton)(Great Value!)
$81
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Staunton)(Great Value!)
$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Staunton)
$109
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$132
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
57
22
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
22
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchold housethird floorprivate bathhomemade muffinswithin walking distanceperfect place to stayexcellent breakfastan upgradeeasy parkingsized bedspent two nightscharming townshenandoah valleydowntownaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 79 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Pros - a little out of town, about a 5 minute walk, which was enjoyable to see the homes along the way. Nice big room, comfortable king bed. Wi-fi. Overhead fan. Wide chair for two w/ottoman. Great reading lamp near the chair (always one of my pet peeves if reading light is not good). Modern bathroom w/jacuzzi tub, lots of hat water, nice towels Great breakfasts different entree and homebaked goodies each day - scrambled eggs and sausage patties with homemade raisin bran muffins the first morning, turkey & broccoli quiche and banana bread the second and spinach & mushroom quiche and cranberry scones the third. Also frest fruit, applesauce, yogurt, juice and coffee.
Cons - No information about where bedrooms were located on website and we wanted a king bed so were on the third floor - two sets of long steps from the side walk to the front porch and then three sets to the bedroom (one very narrow). Hard to navigate - anyone with mobility problems will not be able to get to the front door. Musty downstairs in parlor and run down outside - porch needed painting. No individual room control for A/C. Tiny soaps and wrapped thin plastic glasses like the Holiday Inn. I usually look forward to the great toilet products when we stay in a B&B. Uneven shower pressure.

Room Tip: All rooms require climbing at least two sets of stairs as well as the two sets up to the porch.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank likebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Olde Staunton Inn reflects the character of Staunton; charming, quiet and full of nice people. We arrived late in the afternoon and the host, David, had gone out to run an errand, but left us a welcome note on the door telling us where to find our room, keys and towels.

The room was great, with a very authentic décor. The brass bedstead was a particular highlight, though a little short for anyone above 6'2" (like my boyfriend, with whom I was staying). We shared a very clean and spacious bathroom with one other room.

Breakfast was very good, with all guests sharing a large table. Mango, strawberry, home-grown tomatoes, English muffins and home-made quiche (?!), all of which were delicious, made for a hearty breakfast before a long day of hiking in the Shenandoah Valley.

David was also very helpful when our hostel plans for the following night fell through. All in all, a very nice stay in charming surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the second summer – mid-August – that I have spent at the charming and cozy Olde Staunton Inn in Staunton, Virginia. I am a frequent participant at the Staunton Music Festival, now in its seventeenth season and one of the most ambitious, imaginatively programmed, and best well-kept secrets vis-à-vis music festivals in this country, and the Olde Staunton Inn is right in the center of picturesque Staunton and all of the musical, theatrical and artistic events that it has to offer. David Bottenfield, the innkeeper, is a gracious and generous host who personally oversees all of the details of this well-appointed and comfortable guesthouse. Breakfasts are a communal affair, so you get a chance to engage in lively conversation with guests from around the world. David not only introduces everyone but he provides a feast that varies from morning to morning that includes local fresh eggs and fruits along with homemade quiche and muffins and breads and unending pots of coffee and tea and fresh fruit juices. David also recommends local trips to caverns and wineries and various other tourist attractions. Each room is unique, beautifully decorated, clean, and with a private bath. Simply put: it feels like you are sharing your home away from home with very good friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Staunton is a great place to visit, full of history, things to see and fun just to walk round. There are plenty of places to eat and have a drink and all in a small friendly environment. The Olde Staunton Inn is really well placed for a stay as it is a very short walk to the main centre. It is also very easy to find and drive to. The house itself is full of character and charm. But for us the most important part of our stay was the welcome given by David. He was always ready to give helpful advice and offer ideas. We loved chatting to him and other guests during breakfast. And finally the breakfasts. There was so much choice of hot and cold dishes all superbly cooked. Easily the best we had during our stay in the USA. Hopefully we'll get a chance to return one day. Bryan & Polly

Room Tip: All rooms are good and don't be put off the ones that share a bathroom. Not a problem.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just stayed one night, and left before breakfast, but we enjoyed our stay at the Olde Staunton Inn. The owner is obviously very dedicated to his B & B. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotless. The owner was most helpful and I would have loved to sit and chat about Staunton's history with him. Unfortunately, we had to get up and out very early, so we passed on breakfast. I'm sure it was our loss.

One warning to those who aren't great at stairs and lugging their bags -- the rooms are upstairs, and like all beautiful, old homes, that means hauling bags. There's also very limited parking at the house, so you may be hauling bags up to the house and then upstairs. To be fair, there is plenty of on street parking and a big, free parking lot just down the way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenghisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews