We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent”
Review of Olde Staunton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olde Staunton Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 28, 2013

David is a thoughtful and accommodating host who strikes the right balance between hospitality and independence for his guests. Others have commented on the comfort, amenities, fine breakfast, and cleanliness of this beautifully restored house. Additionally, quiet enables a good night's rest. There is a great library for the perusal of books on travel, history, architecture and more which invite relaxation during those "in between" moments. Thanks David, we'll be seeing you before long.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 76 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We arrived quite late at night and the innkeeper David wasn't around, so we rang the phone number on the door and asked him if there was any vacancy. David was very accommodating and although he wasn't at the B and B, he told us to let ourselves in and make ourselves comfy in our assigned room on the third floor. The room was beautiful and huge and we were provided with lots of information on Staunton and what there was to do in the town. Once we cleaned up we went downstairs and David had arrived home and was more than happy to provide us with restuarant tips for the night!
After a great nights rest in the most comfortable bed, the next morning we were provided a delicious breakfast by David in his gorgeous sunroom. He was also very interested to hear about our trip and gave us so many tips and reccomendatons for our future travels. We would defintely reccommend a stay at the Olde Staunton Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed the weekend and had a lovely time. The owner is so kind and amenable, the room had everything necessary to make my stay easy (even a user-friendly, bedside Alarm Clock!), free wifi, easy parking and sumptuous, scrumptious breakfasts. No way I could eat everything offered, but I couldn't resist the homemade breads and muffins, and the fresh fruits were perfect (always lots of choices!). The ca. 1910 home has gorgeous woodwork and stained glass, and I loved sitting on the front porch in the morning and visiting the quiet library late at night. Just a fun stay in every way, and I'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeredithBeanMcMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed in early April 2013. Our accommodations could not have been more perfect for us. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a king room with bathroom. All was very comfortable, clean and quiet. My husband enjoyed a lovely breakfast each morning, while I slept in. The owner of the big stately home made everything easy for us. City amenities are about 3+ blocks walking distance; restaurants, antique shops etc. The inn rises about 2 flights of stairs above street level, but the climb is well worth it.

Room Tip: We peeked at the less expensive rooms. They are quite small, but so charmingly appointed that we may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of the 3rd floor rooms--our friends were in the other one--for three nights in early March, 2013. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and quiet. When we returned in the evenings, we enjoyed sitting and chatting with our friends in the library. Breakfast could not have been better. (Ask about the unique dining table.) David took my gluten-free diet in stride. David is an attentive, easy-going host. We have stayed at a higher-priced B&B in Staunton, but will definitely return to the Olde Staunton Inn if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JukeTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just returned from a lovely, relaxing weekend at the Olde Staunton Inn. This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast, and it definitely won't be our last. We felt like we were living in the lap of luxury during our stay because of all of the accommodations in the William Beverley room, including the King-sized bed, jacuzzi bathtub, and fireplace. David, the innkeeper, was very hospitable and is also a wonderful cook. We thoroughly enjoyed the muffins, ham and broccoli quiche, and chipped beef that he made. David was also very knowledgeable about the quaint town of Staunton and gave suggestions of places to eat based on what we said we were interested in. Some of our new favorite restaurants became Byers Street Bistro, Mill Street Cafe, and the Split Banana Company.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Olde Staunton Inn on our last stop in Virginia. Parking was available on the side of the road as well as in a parking lot only a few steps away from the inn. The owner was very friendly! The room was absolutely great: king size bed and an en-suite bathroom with a tub. Breakfast was very tasty. Great location - very close to the historic downtown!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KI-J23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
900 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
219 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
474 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Staunton Inn

Address: 260 N Lewis St, Staunton, VA 24401-3347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range: $79 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olde Staunton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Olde Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing