We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    214
    138
    50
    22
See reviews for
173
157
67
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night while passing though. The room was acceptably clean, the bed was clean (although the fitted sheet didn't fit very well), the bathroom was mostly clean-it could have been vacuumed better. The staff was friendly and accommodating (gave us easy directions to a place to eat). The breakfast was minimal but looked fresh. Very cute little town

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stephaniejoyhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

A little ways off the interstate, but not too bad. Front desk who's name was Andrew very nice and helpful. Room okay for the price. Clean bed and comfortable. Room & bathroom clean. The whole motel needs sprucing up...is old...needs to be refreshed. Continental breakfast was ok..Impressed with their outside garden...Did not use pool, a storm was brewing. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank billhambor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very old hotel. All furnishings were dated but appeared clean. Ice bucket was moldy, so now I am wondering how clean the bathroom really was? Front desk exchanged the ice bucket for a second and then a third one that were somewhat cleaner, but still looked like they could use a disinfectant wipe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank L. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you are not picky, please stay here. I checked in and found that the mattress had stains that were years old. The bathroom tub had never seen comet. Sad, since this is in a prime location for the historic area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Staunton hotels

Staunton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was hesitant to stay here at first because it is a older hotel, and yes it is not fancy but I didn't expect it to be so was very happy with it. could not have ask for better mangment they will help you with anything you ask for the nicest management I have ever dealt with. and this is the best hotel to stay in if you are going to the downtown area, trolley is in the parking lot are you can walk it is not a very far walk. hotel is clean has a pool. and the bed was comfy. and it is not far from the gypsy hill park. great town and great hotel. will stay here again. did not try the free breakfast, just because we are not breakfast people, so I don't know how it was. the staff did tell us where it was and suggest we try it. stay here you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Charla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

About 4 blocks from the historic downtown and across the street from the trolley stop, this hotel is in a great location. Everything worked well in the room, and the room was clean. Wifi worked well throughout the facility. Outdoor pool was crystal clear. Free breakfast was mostly bread, cereal and fruit. Stayed for two days and found the owners and staff to be friendly and helpful. Not a luxury hotel, but everything you could want for a comfortable stay in a great in town location. Room was very quiet. Elevator was small, but never had to wait long for it for a third floor room. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors give a bit of city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Address: 268 North Central Avenue, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Staunton Hotel Staunton
Howard Johnson Staunton
Staunton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing