We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff knowledge lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    240
    170
    57
    31
See reviews for
201
186
85
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This room was ok...there has been some cosmetic improvements, but nothing but average can describe the motel. The outside is a bit rough looking still.
The continental breakfast was a choice of some bread, some cereal, juice and coffee. It really pales by comparison to what many motels are now offering for breakfast. They need to rethink the breakfast. I doubt I will stay there again, because there is so many other places to stay, that offer so much more, for the same price.
The one outstanding thing was the recommendation from the desk clerk to eat at the Clock Tower Restaurant which was two blocks from the motel. THAT was a great suggestion. The meal was absolutely memorable.

Room Tip: Frankly, I would find another place to stay, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

While the hotel may look a little rough around the edges, you can tell they put in the effort. The outside could use some TLC but the inside of the room was very impressive. The main strip of the town is literally a 5 minute walk down the road. The town, I should add, is adorable. I didn't get to do it, but there is a trolley car tour of this historic town. The price was worth the stay. The only thing I did not approve of was the guy working the counter when I arrived who, when no one was standing at the counter which is the plus side, was playing video games on the lobby tv and had his laptop on the table. Otherwise, great visit. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

was caught out in the "blizzard", came in at 9:30 am and they let me in a room early. had to park across the street because the parking lot had not been cleaned yet(as many others in the area that day), it was still putting down the snow. was very grateful to see their smiling faces, and they were all very friendly. If they offered breakfast, I was not aware of it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

friendly staff....exterior of building well-kept...lobby neat and clean....room was okay. needs updating. fairly clean but for old food found in microwave and empty soda bottle behind night stand.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
345 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
189 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Address: 268 N Central Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-3309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Staunton Hotel Staunton
Howard Johnson Staunton
Staunton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing