We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Well worth a stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Richmond
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Clean, convenient and pleasant personnel make this spot a good destination in Staunton, VA if you want to take in a Blackfriar's Play, or just stroll around town and shop and eat in some of the interesting restaurants. Close to all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Rumaweigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    219
    140
    51
    23
See reviews for
179
159
69
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The town of Staunton turned out to be one of those gems you stumble upon when traveling. Going through the area and just picked it sort of ramdomly. Got a good price for the night at this hotel. Turned out the hotel is located downtown within walking distance to histroic areas shops and resturants. Room was nice, quit and there is a small continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redwoody128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
526 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visit Staunton, VA frequently and tired of paying the prices at the other downtown hotel and B&B's, so we tried the equally convenient HJ. For far less than $100 a night, this is an amazing deal, which includes free parking in the adjacent lot and light continental breakfast. The rooms are spacious and have refrigerators and microwaves. There is, however, no fitness room, and the outdoor pool is tiny. We found several articles of clothing left from a previous occupant, and the cleaning was spotty. If you are concerned about footprints and aging bathtubs, you will not be pleased here. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We found that on balance, including the great view of downtown, and the excellent location, it was worth compromising what we would not accept if we were paying more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third or fourth floor facing the downtown (the odd-numbered rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Filthy is the best word to describe the room we had. Among the numerous issues the most notable were the dead bugs, mold, faulty electrical outlet, generally a dirty unhealthy atmosphere. We stayed in the handicap accessible room on the ground floor. This was the only room in the entire town available on the night we were there due to parents weekend at a local college.We stayed on October 4 2013 and the next morning notified the manager who came to the room to look at the issues we found. He said his name was Bob (after contacting corporate we found out this was not his name). He stepped inside approximately 5 feet and didn't directly look at any of the issues, he just stated over and over, "I will have this cleaned ASAP". I took three (3) videos of inside and outside the room and have offered to forward them to the corporate supervisor (awaiting a return call). There is a review on this very site from October 8, 2013 reviewing the same room (although not in as much detail as I have) and clearly the issues were not addressed. I have contacted the corporate (Wyndham Hotels) as well as the Virginia Health Department so this hotel will be inspected and hopefully hold the manager(s) accountable and demand cleanliness.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Staunton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Address: 268 N Central Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-3309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Staunton Hotel Staunton
Howard Johnson Staunton
Staunton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing