We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly service at the loby, very clean guestroom...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Reviewed October 15, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Franck C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 683 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Filthy is the best word to describe the room we had. Among the numerous issues the most notable were the dead bugs, mold, faulty electrical outlet, generally a dirty unhealthy atmosphere. We stayed in the handicap accessible room on the ground floor. This was the only room in the entire town available on the night we were there due to parents weekend at a local college.We stayed on October 4 2013 and the next morning notified the manager who came to the room to look at the issues we found. He said his name was Bob (after contacting corporate we found out this was not his name). He stepped inside approximately 5 feet and didn't directly look at any of the issues, he just stated over and over, "I will have this cleaned ASAP". I took three (3) videos of inside and outside the room and have offered to forward them to the corporate supervisor (awaiting a return call). There is a review on this very site from October 8, 2013 reviewing the same room (although not in as much detail as I have) and clearly the issues were not addressed. I have contacted the corporate (Wyndham Hotels) as well as the Virginia Health Department so this hotel will be inspected and hopefully hold the manager(s) accountable and demand cleanliness.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank deltathecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank uiamg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lora L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was an older property but nicely restored, the staff was very friendly, they would even open the door for you if they saw you coming (don't see that too much anymore!) The price was right for this area and we will stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sidecar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Cyclingsanta
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
881 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
467 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
213 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Staunton
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Address: 268 N Central Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-3309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: $65 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Staunton Hotel Staunton
Howard Johnson Staunton
Staunton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing