We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Simple Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    240
    170
    57
    31
See reviews for
201
186
85
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for our second anniversary trip to Staunton. We were looking for a place located centrally to town, that was affordable, had a pool. and that was clean. The HoJo met all of these requirements. The pool was actually awesome--huge!!! Nobody else was using it when we wanted to go swimming, so it was nice and private. The front desk clerk brought us some pool towels when he noticed we took the ones from our room with us, which was really nice of him. The trolley picks up and drops off from this location. Breakfast was just ok, but for free, you can't complain. We plan to stay here again on our next trip to Staunton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punky9791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Upon checking in with the owner (Bob), we were pleased with his friendliness and hospitality. He even took us out to his garden (and shared some veggies) at our request. We were traveling "day to day"...we have a Harley and travel based on the weather and location. We originally paid for one night, but after a few hours knew we wanted to book an additional night. We were able to park our bike under the portico, which was great since there were scattered showers in the area. We were able to walk to the historic district and enjoy a delicious dinner. We were also able to ride on the Sklyline Parkway which was gorgeous. In all, we stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our vacation, then stopped on our way back home and stayed an additional two nights. We met several couples who stay here at least once a year...some even stay here a few times each year. I know we will certainly return! This is nothing fancy, just a great comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prissyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We did not have a reservation to stay, but were thrilled to get a room. We were on a trip...going day to day based on the weather (we have a Harley we wanted to ride) and the interest of the area. When we arrived, we got a room for one night. The next morning, we reserved the room for the following night. We enjoyed Bob and his wife and decided to return later in the week for an additional two nights. We definitely plan to return again and stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Approximately 20 Motorcycles & a Miata drove to Staunton, VA for the 4th of July weekend. We left Thursday morning, from Reels Corner, PA and rode to Davis, West Virginia for lunch at Hellbenders Burrito's. It was an excellent lunch as always. We took every twisty rode we could find & made it to Staunton by 4:00 to enjoy time in the clean, spacious pool.

Some of our group walked into town to find dinner, but not much was open. The other group that stayed at the pool orderd Domino's pizza.

Next day, friday we drove 250, 39 and did the scenic Goshen Pass. Pool time, walked into town & ate at the Depo train station.

Saturday, we got up early, trying to beat the heat, and rode the Blue Ridge Parkway down to Roanoke. There was very little traffic, and when we did see a vehicle, it was a motorcycle or two or three. In Roanoke we had lunch at a mexican Restaurant, that had a Salsa bar. Another excellent choice of a place to eat. Walked around Roanoke and shopped at the Farmers Market. We got back on jThe Blue Ridge Parkway and rode up to Staunton. Pool time, relaxation and our favorite restaurant, The Mill Street Grill. Sunday, got up and tried to stay ahead of the rain but it finally caught up to us in Somerset. What a great trip !

Room Tip: The rooms were all good, no complaints from over 24 people in our group. The manager, Bob, even brou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel was selected since it was one of only two located in Staunton and offered better pricing than other option. The architecture gives it away as an older motel and there are signs of age in sagging towel rack and molded plastic encasing original tub. Probably the most disappointing sign was the strong smell of bug spray in the elevator upon arrival. Unfortunately it was still evident when checking out the next morning. After seeing frozen breakfast offerings and poor cereal selection we elected to eat at a restaurant. On a more positive note the in room refrigerator was a nice size and kept items very cold. In addition the bed was comfortable and firm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100nations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Staunton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
345 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
189 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Address: 268 N Central Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-3309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Staunton Hotel Staunton
Howard Johnson Staunton
Staunton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing