We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as pleased as the last time we stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    246
    178
    63
    32
See reviews for
208
190
88
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The staff was friendly and the hotel was in a great location for accessibility to downtown Staunton. However, this hotel is in drastic need of updating Bathrooms are old and give a grungy appearance. Time for a make-over HoJo's!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Roxanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here with a group of 7 for 5 days. The room could have been cleaner. I found trash in 3 separate spots in the room. The blanket was filthy and covered in.. biological matter from a male. Warren at the front desk was rude to me 3 times, an appeared to spend most of his time smoking outside. Despite the price and proximity (as a student on a budget) I would NEVER stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Staunton hotels

Mount Angel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Having read some of the reviews on google maps we were a little worried. Many of them were a bit negative. The location being walking distance to our favorite theater and the price being so reasonable we just had to try it. Once we arrived the service was so helpful and friendly. The room was a little nicer than you would expect for the price. We are quite pleased to have found our new favorite place to stay while in Staunton. We will definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardinal
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Since you advertise breakfast available, there should be signage of some type showing the location of breakfast. If not signage, whoever is at the desk should ask if you would be joining for breakfast & showing location. There was nothing to indicate where to go & there really wasn't anyone to ask.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

From the outside and in the lobby, I was concerned that I had made a not-so-great choice. But, my room was clean, smelled fresh, well cared for, relatively modern, and was a great value for the price. The location was near downtown Staunton and convenient to local attractions. Free wifi was nice, too. I'd go back....

Not a four star hotel, but a good value for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustaGuyOakPark_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The surrounding neighborhood and the exterior of this hotel is a little spooky, especially at night. Once I got in my room though, I was happy with everything. It's not a four star hotel but everything was clean and I was close to downtown. Would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank colinlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
354 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
199 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Staunton
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Address: 268 N Central Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-3309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Staunton Hotel Staunton
Howard Johnson Staunton
Staunton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing