We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Since you advertise breakfast available, there should be...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Cardinal
1 review
“Since you advertise breakfast available, there should be...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Since you advertise breakfast available, there should be signage of some type showing the location of breakfast. If not signage, whoever is at the desk should ask if you would be joining for breakfast & showing location. There was nothing to indicate where to go & there really wasn't anyone to ask.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    224
    144
    52
    23
See reviews for
180
165
72
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

From the outside and in the lobby, I was concerned that I had made a not-so-great choice. But, my room was clean, smelled fresh, well cared for, relatively modern, and was a great value for the price. The location was near downtown Staunton and convenient to local attractions. Free wifi was nice, too. I'd go back....

Not a four star hotel, but a good value for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustaGuyOakPark_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The surrounding neighborhood and the exterior of this hotel is a little spooky, especially at night. Once I got in my room though, I was happy with everything. It's not a four star hotel but everything was clean and I was close to downtown. Would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank colinlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at this HoJo on the way to Virginia Beach. The owner took special privilege in welcoming us, and introduced us to his family. He showed us his private garden, and all the vegetables he grew. The rooms were nice, with every modern amenity. Overall, this hotel was quite nice, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The setup of the hotel its self was very odd and very old. There were no interior halls to speak of, and it was about 30 degrees outside when I was there. The rooms are very old and need an update. The bed was rock hard and broken on one side. Thank god I was only staying a couple of nights. I know I won't be staying there again based strictly on the no inside hallways, let alone the train that goes by every 2 hours.

The staff was very stand offish. When I walked in to check in the desk clerk was sitting in the little area off to the side on his laptop. It took him a minute to get up and ask what I needed. I guess what ever he was doing on the internet was more important then taking my money.

I will say the only real good thing about this hotel was its location. It was a little hard to find but thank god for a GPS. But it was near a lot of things. I was litterally only minutes away from anything that was related to the area. Even the gas station was close by with a Walmart, Dominos pizza, Chinese restaurant and a Hardees.

The only reason I am giving it a three circle rating is because of the price and location. It was not the cleanest nor the most up to date place I have stayed but it was one of the cheapest.

Room Tip: The odd number rooms have a view of the only parking lot. A good choice to keep an eye on your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Address: 268 N Central Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-3309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Staunton Hotel Staunton
Howard Johnson Staunton
Staunton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing