We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Brevard, North Carolina, USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at this hotel. It was difficult to find (late at night), but once we did, we were pleased with it. The room was average but clean. The outdoor pool was wonderful. The view from the pool was amazing...historical architecture all around. The best part of our stay was the manager's garden...incredible space around the pool with a big variety of weed-free plants! We enjoyed talking with them about the garden; they were very pleasant. The breakfast wasn't much, but there is a Hardee's across the street. We'd stay again and would take time to tour the city!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMrs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    257
    182
    66
    36
See reviews for
220
195
90
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CENTRAL ISLIP
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visit Staunton 4-6 times per year to visit family. The Howard Johnson staff is friendly and helpful and accomodations are comfortable. This hotel is a good value and the swimming pool is delightful in the summer months.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank CLAIRE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was vending at the event and stay at the hotel. The hotel is near the center of Gypsy Park,

Food companies and major highways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank KENNETH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Have you ever wanted to go back to the days 20 or 30 years ago where a hotel was basic but was still clean and provided good value? This hotel will give you that nostalgic feeling without having to pull on the peace sign necklaces and bell bottom pants. The Hojo at Staunton is like taking a step back in time. It reminds me of the motels that I was taken to as a kid on vacation back in the 1980's. Cheap prices, Extrerior entry, basic accomadation but still comfortable and fairly clean. The type of hotel that nothing fancy but had a comfortable bed and allowed you to recharge after a day out. This is how I would describe the Howard Johnson at Staunton, VA.

We were visiting friends in the area and picked this hotel due to its downtown location and price. The fact that is was under $60 a night was a little concerning but the reviews for the property were good so we decided to take a chance on it.

The hotel was built a while back and the foyer does not look like it has been updated since opening day. This is not a bad thing but if you are looking for a hotel with a modern lobby you will be sorely disappointed. Check in was easy and in no time we had our keys and were heading to the room. The staff were very friendly and were eager to help if needed.

The room itself was nothing luxuirous but had everything most people will require in a hotel room. The bed was comfortable, had a decent sized bathroom and a seperate sink area outside of the bathroom. It also had a workdesk, a small table and chairs so there was plenty of room to spread out.

There were two small things that prevented this from being a perfect stay. Neither of them were anything big but is worth noting. The first was that if an adjacent room is running water it is able to be heard in the room and can be quite loud. It was only an issue for us on the first night and may have just been localized to the room we were in. The other issue was the height of the shower head. The shower head was about 5 foot 6 inches from the tub bottom and it was quite difficult to wet your hair without bending over backwards. If you are shorter than average this may not be a concern but average height and tall people will likely have issues with the shower head height.

The hotel also offered a continental breakfast. The selection included a variety of cereals, bagels and other baked goods and waffles. Orange and apple juice were also on offer. The breakfast was pretty good for being a continental breakfast and was plentiful enough to keep us going until lunch time.

This hotel is a good choice if you are looking for inexpensive lodging in Staunton, VA. It is nothing special but is clean, comfortable and good value for money. If you are looking for the glitz and glam of a 5 star hotel this is not for you but otherwise is worth considering.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Location was challenging to find. Thank goodness for my wife who helped by giving me directions from my map app. Staff was friendly and helpful. It is in the historic part of town and that made it fun.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is the Howard Johnson's that time forgot. The property would be called "worn" by some travelers and "nostalgic" by others, depending on your view of that quality, with obviously old elevators, rugs, bathrooms, and such, but all well maintained for functionality. The surprise positive was the quality of the furnishings - after our elevator ride up and our walk around to the room, we weren't expecting so much, including fridge and microwave packed into the room; the downside is that all the great furniture was in a room not intended for quite so much furniture, but not cripplingly so.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the location was outstanding, with easy access to nearby restaurants and attractions, including a very attractive midtown area, and trolley with a stop just outside the property.

The wifi was not dependable, so travellers really depending on good access should be wary.

In all, we were pleased with our experience for the price paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregJHipius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at this HoJo 7/23-7/27/12. The price was great to begin with. We were touring on our motorcycles and were happy to find that we could park our bikes under the awning. The room was great. It was very clean with all the amenities that we expected. Everything worked perfectly. The location was excellent. We could jump on the free trolley to get to many areas of the city or walk a few blocks to the heart of Staunton. The owner, Bob and his family, have beautiful vegetable gardens in the rear of the hotel near the pool. The employees were cheerful s well as efficient. We will definitely return to this hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: We were on the south side of the hotel and had no problems with privacy or street noise at all. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKWilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
206 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
363 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Address: 268 N Central Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-3309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Staunton Hotel Staunton
Howard Johnson Staunton
Staunton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing