We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Updated, Pet Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband and I were traveling through VA and needed a clean place that would accept pets so we stopped here and asked if they would take my pet. Girl at desk was very helpful and said she had a "pet room" in the back. We were pleasantly surprised to find a clean engineered hardwood floor. It was great as we had dog bowl and water dish. Room had a large flat screen, nice vanity and bath, micro, fridge, and king bed. It was a deluxe room but was about $86 with tax. Not bad. Also had a nice continental breakfast, indoor heated pool, and hot tub. When we checked out the desk clerk (probably the owner) asked how everything was. Thats a rareity. I told him we were more than satisfied. Also saw people with bbqs outside rooms and the guy next to his was using his so apparently they are OK with it. It didn't bother me and I thought it was a great idea for people staying a few days.

Room Tip: If you have a pet the rooms in the back are great as there is a grassy area to walk them. Also back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel and staff. We always strive to make our guest happy ,i am glad that you like floor.The staff and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience, We hope you come stay with us again .

Thanks, Regards,
Ramila Desai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 468 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed overnight here on my way to NC. Very easy to find, right off I-81. The room was clean, nicely furnished, nothing fancy and had no funky smells. The bathroom had a tub with the sink and mirror outside the actual bathroom. Fridge and microwave in the room. The hotel was pretty crowded and there were a few dogs, but I had no trouble sleeping. I had requested to be away from the dogs and they accommodated me. The bed and pillows were comfortable, no achy back in the morning. The breakfast was very standard for this chain. Some hot items, frozen waffles, toast, fruit and good coffee. They have two cereals, raisin bran and cornflakes, nothing sweet.
There are some good restaurants in the area and a gas station right as you turn up the road to the hotel.
I found this to be a good deal for the money. This is going to be my stopover place on my way to NC every time.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I checked Trip Advisor before making this reservation and this seemed like the best balance between price and rating for my one night stay in the area. Turned out to be very nice considering it looks like a typical roadside motel. The rooms appear to have been remodeled recently. The towels were on the small side but clean, soft and there were plenty. The sheets were definitely clean - smelled a little like bleach and were not very soft but the clean makes that tolerable. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave as well as coffee. The staff was very friendly. The free breakfast was not impressive but about what I expected from a motel.

Room Tip: The highway/main parking lot side was a little noisy but not overly so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epk_alexVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for commenting regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience, We hope you come stay with us again .

Thanks, Regards,
Ramila Desai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Wanted to see the sights in and around Staunton, so needed an affordable and clean place to stay for four nights. Red Roof fit the bill. It was close to downtown, local attractions and major roadways. The hotel, while older, was clean and in good shape. Staff was very friendly and accommodating and the pool was nice. Continental breakfast was ok - had lots of carbs which are not my thing, but offered enough choices, particularly if with a family and young children. Overall the place was clean, friendly and a good value for the price. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bababooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience,Thanks for kind word about my staff and property. We hope you come stay with us again .

Thanks, Regards,
Ramila Desai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

stayed here overnight while going to nearby massanutten waterpark and american shakespeare company w/ wife and 2 kids.

PROS>
very friendly check in / fast
clean rooms
nice pool area, water warm (pool 3-4' deep)
sauna big enough for 3-4... uses timer, so warm up 30 minutes prior to planned use
fitness room big enough to stretch and do a insanity style workout in w/ mirrors
good breakfast (except no eggs or many protein sources)
very helpful housekeeping and clean rooms
parking right at door
1 restaurant w/ in walking distance (buffet/ American style food)
close to highway exit
big shower head, good pressure and temp


CONS>
very few towels in room, small towels at that
no hot tub (I knew this going in) but figured I would gripe;-)


The thing that stands out in my mind about this hotel is the staff, VERY friendly gal on check in, super fast. Bobby personally delivered towels down to the pool for us and gave my son a glass of milk after breakfast was closed (just because he worked out)...Bobby was very nice to us and went above and beyond.

thx!

Room Tip: first floor so you are by your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBOOTH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thanks for visiting us at the Red Roof Inn Staunton, VA. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for sharing your comments for other travelers. It is nice to know you will visit us again when you return to the area. If I can assist with future reservations, please contact me at 540-885-3117 or redroof706@gmail.com. Thanks Again Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

You can get a good night sleep. Go swimming, work out or just relax. Host are very nice. I stay every time i am in area.this hotel is best value and there is your choice of good places to eat.The area has a lot of things to enjoy ay your leasure.

Room Tip: I like bottom floor. Any floor you chose will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOUIS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

I'm glad that you enjoyed your last stay with us and that we are your hotel of choice while you are visiting Staunton. We enjoy having you and look forward to your next stay with us.

Guest Relations Manager,

Hunter Cullen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A bargain hotel in Staunton, a good stopover on a long drive south. Friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed, good wifi, and a huge number of channels on a nice flat screen 40" TV. Will return.

Breakfast was marginal.

Room Tip: Liked the convenience of parking right outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Staunton
284 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Address: 42 Sangers Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-6712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: $80 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Flat screen tvs with 100 HD channels and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing