We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Staunton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Picked this property based on reviews. The price was good for a weekend night. Room was clean and we were happy there was no carpet. The room however had a slight odor, perhaps it had been a smoking room at one time. TV had few channels. Breakfast was basic. All in all we were satisfied. Check in was quick and service friendly. Close to Staunton with many restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhikersNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    144
    54
    14
    14
See reviews for
131
113
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently traveled from NY to NC and stayed at this motel on the way down and like it so well, we stayed there again on the way back. Excellent accommodations and super friendly staff. We arrived quite late at night, but that was not problem. The area is quiet with lots of nice attractions around it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for your kind word and time. i glad that you like new room. we appreciate your kind word for staff .I look forward to seeing you again .

Thanks,
Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We found Red Roof Inn after checking Tripadvisor because the motel we had originally planned on staying at was listed in bedbugregistry.com as having a problem. After checking the site for Red Roof Inn, we found no issues. The folks who reviewed this location were spot-on. Clean, clean rooms. Near restaurants and gas stations. Quiet. Decent free breakfast. Friendly staff. This was our first time there and it won't be our last. It's sometimes hard to find good accommodations when traveling from the east coast to Florida several times a year. Oh, and by the way, this is a pet-friendly motel that doesn't charge for well-behaved pets. Amazing!

Room Tip: A room located at the back of the facility afforded peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for your feedback about our hotel. It is very nice to hear from guest has a good experience as it should be.I am very happy you enjoyed breakfast. Thanks for your kind word about front desk staff. we appreciate your kind word and time, Thanks,
Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My daughter, my dog, and I spent two nights, both going to and returning from Washington, DC, at the Staunton Red Roof, this past week. I got to know Ramish (Sic?) the manager, and several of the guest who stayed there. The staff was courtous, the food great, the rooms clean and spacious, and the service excellent. I intend to stay here often on my trips east.

Room Tip: We like bottom floor since travel with dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My expectations were not too high for this reasonably priced hotel and the room we had was fair, clean, though the security chain was broken. The reason I will never return is that I witnessed a disturbing event at the front desk upon checking in. A gentlemen of color walked in and asked if he could get a room and was told that nothing was available for the night. After he left, less than 3 minutes later, another man came in (caucasian), and asked if he could get a room and was told it would not be a problem. Hmmmmm???? Make your own conclusions, but it was fairly obvious to me that discrimination is alive and well at this hotel. My only hope is that the corporate folks at Red Roof Inn will see this and dig into the matter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Manager at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your feedback about our hotel and also thank you for letting us know your concerns. I am very happy that you enjoyed your room and your stay. I want to assure you that at our hotel we treat everyone as equals. I am sorry that it appeared differently in this case. We are a minority owned hotel and are happy to serve everyone equally. If you would like to discuss this issue more please feel free to call the hotel and speak with us about it.

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a 2 star, maybe a 3 star property that rises to 4 stars by sheer dint of effort.

The room was immaculate. Seriously, I have stayed in any number of places, quite a few of them much more expensive than this Red Roof Inn, and never seen anything cleaner.

The furniture was better than I expected, the room had a 'fridge and a microwave, and breakfast was exceptional. What sold me was not the biscuits and gravy, but the cinnamon and raisins for the oatmeal.

Any place could be improved, and I wish this one had better TV reception and a faster internet connection. So it doesn't quite rate 5 stars.

One word of warning: if you are traveling with a pet, call the motel directly and let them know your travel plans. Although Red Roof Inn is pet friendly, this place is quite popular, and they will be better to accommodate you if you give them friendly 'heads-up'

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spike_Spiegel_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your feedback about our hotel. It is very nice to hear from guest has a good experience as it should be.I am very happy you enjoyed breakfast. Thanks for your kind word about front desk staff.
we are working on for better TV reception and a faster internet connection. Wright now we don't have cable service available but cable company bring service some time soon. please accept my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thanks, Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Checked in on Wed October 9th and front desk staff was very pleasant. We we're put in a room in the back far end of the motel. Went in unpacked and looked around. The air conditioning unit and floor was full of leaves. The bath tub and bath mat were full of leaves. The furniture was thick with dust. Then we saw the Stink Bugs on the ceiling, walls, bed etc. the icing on the cake: a mouse ran across the room from behind the fridge. We quickly packed went to front desk and asked for a refund. The attendant was very apologetic and re credited my account and at my request cancelled led the reservation for our return through the area. I have never been in a place so disgusting and have stayed in other Red Roof Inns that were very clean. This one should be closed down.......AVOID this place unless you want to sleep with bugs and vermin !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ieie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Staunton Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

I am very sorry you had to encounter the issue with Stink Bugs. They are at epidemic proportion in PA- MD-RI-DE-and Va. It is not only an issue in the hotels but in all of our homes and other businesses There really is no way of controlling them as we have tried. As soon as the weather cools they are gone

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Thanks,Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Property: Red Roof Inn Staunton
Address: 42 Sangers Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-6712
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Flat screen tvs with 100 HD channels and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing