We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passable for a quick, inexpensive stay with a dog”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This location was conveniently located and easy to find. There was a Shoney's Restaurant next door, but we found an excellent Texas Steakhouse nearby. The room was typical, but updated with wood-like flooring. The beds were o.k., but the blankets were extremely thin. We weren't able to get extra bedding because the desk clerk was alone. The biggest challenge was getting the heater to regulate. I got up numerous times to turn it down and then up. I would likely stay here again, but ask ahead of time for extra pillows and blankets.

Room Tip: A corner room is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanci_h_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 477 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Was exhausted from driving and needed a room...this is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. Even my dog was completely comfortable. There was laminate floors and the bathrooms had recently been updated. Comfortable and affordable. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

No one there yet we got a room with water damage ceiling. The room was clean beyond that. . We were interested in sleep and that is what we got. Very limited tv service. Free breakfast not worth going to. Broken down pool. Very friendly check in staff. Price reflects what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarkiex6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

march 13
Dear Guest, I appreciate your feedback about our hotel. We take great pride in quality and service we provide at this location as experienced by many of our customers. I apologize your past stay did not met your expectations. As of today we have resolved the problem. Our pool has been close for more than 5 years, I am sorry that we don’t have more TV channel. We do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Regards,
Ramila Desai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I'm a truck driver working with a limited budget. Upon arrival I was greeted by Roy at the desk who worked hard to find a pricing scenerio that was affordable. Upon departure at 0500 Roy showed up "from somewhere" as I was putting my key in the night window. He fixed coffee and gave me a couple of muffins to send me on my way. The room was clean with all the amenities needed for a GREAT night's stay. I departed as a "happy camper".

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEORGE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Reserved this hotel for a one night stopover from NYC to New Orleans. Right off the highway, easy check-in, great price (they offer a 10% senior discount for 55+) and clean room with very comfortable beds and pillows. Bathroom even had granite tiles in shower and good water pressure.

Free breakfast nothing to write home about, but at least there was a microwave to heat up the lukewarm coffee and water for tea and instant oatmeal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frolic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Thin walls, and thin blankets. TV is without PBS, MSNBC, or the Comedy Channel. They accept pets (one per room), but require that pets not be left alone in the room. The room is clean, but shabby and dark. The bed squeeks. I can't imagine staying there again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 132
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fiona08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very nice, quiet and clean. The room was in very good order. The area is safe, and quiet, close to the highway, but far enough away as to not hear the traffic.

There are also stores, gasoline and restaurants nearby.

A very nice hotel in a very nice area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really good, so it doesn't matter which one you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Staunton
291 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Address: 42 Sangers Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-6712
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: $63 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Flat screen tvs with 100 HD channels and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing