We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mid-point for 12-hour Road Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Clean, functional rooms and a basic, healthy, clean breakfast room. They help you get the best discount you can (and have even had me email them a discount coupon while standing in their hotel lobby, using their Wi-Fi). Safe if you're traveling alone. Also pet-friendly, with pet suites in a corner of the hotel so you're not intruding on those with allergies.

Next best part is being near a Starbucks, 24-hour gas/food station, and 3 miles into the city of Staunton's downtown with a professional theatre (Shakespeare et al), couple of quality restaurants, and quaint streets to stretch your legs.

Room Tip: Ask to be where the Wi-Fi signal is strong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmthomsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 477 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have stayed at a few Red Roof Inns since we have two cats and they do not charge a pet fee. I can't say I've been real impressed with the cleanliness and quietness of some of them that we have been in. We visit Staunton Va quite a bit and always stayed at another chain motel. This time we thought we would try the Red Roof Inn. My only concern before we got there was that they indicated that only one pet per room was allowed. I had made my reservation via the internet and was honest and indicated that we had two cats. I was expecting a hassle when checking in but the woman was most pleasant and mentioned the two cats but no extra cost was added to our bill. The room was spacious and clean. And, granted we arrived during an ice storm so the weather wasn't the greatest for people to be hanging outside being noisy but there was no noise whatsoever. My one complaint might be the breakfast but they did have waffles and donuts so I can't really complain. We will definately stay there again our next trip back to Staunton.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stormchaser1569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a motel style establishment Rooms were recently remodeled and in good condition.
Front desk staff (Nancy) was very helpful.
Rooms have the style of heater and air conditioner with no thermostat on the wall....tough to get set where you really want it.
Overall a good room at a good price...I'd stay again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travlrny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I called ahead to make sure of having all amenities as listed on their website such as flat screen TV, refrigerator/microwave, King Bed etc. When I checked in there is no flat screen or King Bed for Corporate Lodging Members, so no XBOX hook-up to relax for me.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank runningwolf_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nice rooms, excellent service, staff is really friendly and very helpful. and nice rates, Clean property, right on exit at 81, Gas station and restaurants near by. went there for friend's baby shower and got everything I need while staying there. really nice Job! will go there again for sure!

Room Tip: Try rooms on top floors. They are renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaurang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We've stayed here many times on trips back and forth when visiting family. In recent years, the new owners have really spruced up the place. Even took out carpets and installed faux wood flooring. Very clean and comfortable and provides the amenities one has come to expect. Easy access to 181. Pleasant staff, day or night!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terriergirl12208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This property is way above the other Red Roof Inns I have stayed at. The property looks great, feels safe, the rooms are extremely clean and in great shape. The hotel is pet friendly and charges no extra when you bring one. Room rate was $60 for two queens.
The staff is really nice, perhaps too much maybe as I waited 20 minutes to get checked in while the receptionist was casually conversing with two customers checking in.
The breakfast was not unforgettable, nothing special there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paris12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Staunton
291 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Address: 42 Sangers Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-6712
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: $63 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Flat screen tvs with 100 HD channels and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing