We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for a Red Roof Inn!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Staunton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great for a Red Roof Inn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This property is way above the other Red Roof Inns I have stayed at. The property looks great, feels safe, the rooms are extremely clean and in great shape. The hotel is pet friendly and charges no extra when you bring one. Room rate was $60 for two queens.
The staff is really nice, perhaps too much maybe as I waited 20 minutes to get checked in while the receptionist was casually conversing with two customers checking in.
The breakfast was not unforgettable, nothing special there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    144
    54
    14
    14
See reviews for
131
113
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westtown NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here on trip back from Florida, room very clean and comfortable. Easy access to I 81, pet friendly with no charge. No pet odors in room, our dog usually sniffs other dogs but quickly settled down. Price was great, There is a Shoneys next door and a Cracker Barrel down the road. We stayed at another Red Roof in Columbia SC and found it just as acceptable. We will seek out this chain in future travels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philandterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

super convenient location right off the interstate. clean room. huge bathtub! super comfy bed. i wanted to steal the pillows!! service is top notch. nancy at the front desk is awesome! she made me feel at home, made me forget that i was 100 miles away on business. i highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsasunnyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Found brown recluse spider in bed. Breakfast included hard donuts, stale waffles and stale bread. Shower curtain had mold on it. Blood stain on bed spread. Tried to take our issues to managment and they acted like they could not speak english.... Terrible

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbroyles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your feedback about our hotel. We take great pride in quality and service we provide at this location as experienced by many of our customers. I apologize your past stay did not met your expectations. We have our hotel regularly serviced by a reputable pest control company. We are an exterior hotel and in a scenic area of Staunton, VA. Occasionally nature is not 100% unavoidable. We apologize for any inconveniences you have experiences. We provide a fresh continental breakfast to our staff every morning. Regarding the quality of your room, it would have been our pleasure to have changed your room if it would have made your stay more enjoyable. All our front desk and management team speak English. Again, I am sorry you did not find your most recent stay acceptable. We do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurleyville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I booked this hotel based on the customer reviews. My mom and I had a very pleasant stay. It's right off the interstate and easy to find, but in a quiet location. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean, simple, comfortable,newly remodeled, and have all the basic amenities needed, including plenty of plug strip access on the desk. Basic continental breakfast in the hotel lobby and a very yummy, locally popular family restaurant and bakery, serving all three meals, just across the road. (Mrs. Rowe's). I will definitely book at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you book on the ground floor, parking is right at your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineNY333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were just driving through Staunton and just needed a place to stay for the night. I looked at the reviews and found this was highly rated and the least expensive hotel. We booked it and found that the reviews were spot on. Just off the highway our hotel was easily located. The room was clean and comfortable. The linens, however, I found were a bit worn, but clean; the underbedding was loose and moved when turning over. I prefer crisp sheets and tight bedding. The morning's continental breakfast was just what we needed to quickly grab something and run. Breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, oatmeal, toast, donuts, cereal, milk and a nice, clean area to eat in. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEARISBURG
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nice hotel with newly-updated rooms. Good bed. Great value. Good location near restaurants at interstate exit. Free breakfast so-so and room lighting a little dim. Lady at reception in the evening very friendly and efficient. Two power strips for all your needs.

Room Tip: The hotel seems to be in the process of updating. Be sure to get a new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Property: Red Roof Inn Staunton
Address: 42 Sangers Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-6712
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Flat screen tvs with 100 HD channels and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing