We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Staunton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were staying here that night due to a power outage! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was helpful and super friendly. This hotel has several good restuarants close by and several different kinds of shopping. It is located right of both interstate 64 and 81.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    144
    54
    14
    14
See reviews for
131
113
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Red Roof Staunton offered good, clean rooms at an excellent price. A continental breakfast is included in the price.

The staff, and in practicular Jackie, at the front desk, were particularly helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pogo791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have stayed at this motel many times over past 10 years. During that time it has chnaged brands 3 times to present Red Roof. We have always had good experiences. This last time was a pleasant surprize. The rooms have been/are being remodeled. Our room just had been remodeled with new beds, new flat screen TV, hair dryer, refridge, microwave, etc. No complaints. A/C effective abd quiet. Staff very customer oriented and friendly. Cannot speak of breakfast as went to Shoney's next door as wanted more of a traditional breakfast. Staff said indoor pool and room (closed for over ten years)has more damage than first thought but are working on it. All in all, cannot beat this for the upper $60 price, location (ez on/off I-81 ut motel rooms quiet) and staff. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jswunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Over the years we literally stayed at hundreds of motels, most of them national chains, but until this year we never had a Red Roof Inn amongst them. Therefore their Staunton location was something of a change for us from our Best-Days-Comfort-Sleep-7-routine, and a very pleasant one!

The location is equally good for visiting Staunton’s old town (highly recommended!) as for starting your trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway or up the Skyline Drive. The buildings and rooms are very well maintained, clean, spacious and cozily furnished, the personnel we came across was throughout friendly and helpful, the continental breakfast included in the rate of only $60 was above average in selection and quality.

Therefore: Hats off to the Red Roof Inn of Staunton!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fossilizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

A fair value for the price. Friendly staff and decent continental breakfast met with expectations. Clean and comfortable, if somewhat spartan, furnishings.

We found outlets in the room frustratingly located and at a premium, especially problematic for travelers with a c-pap machine, but this is not at all a deal breaker - just bring an extension cord and power strip when you travel like we do, rather than give up the good value of this hotel. The wifi was also inconsistent, but these are minor issues, and for the price, a quiet night's sleep is all we were looking for, and it's what we got.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregJHipius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear,Thanks for staying with us and for writing a review online for others to read. I am so happy to hear that you find us to be clean. Thanks for the kind words about friendly staff.We are installing power strip in all room this week. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.Thanks again to bring my attention about power strip.


Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Cass, WV. Unfamiliar with the area, we didn't know what to expect. The price was perfect and the rooms were clean and tidy. The owners and staff were friendly and informative. Free Wifi and breakfast were a definite plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank praveenkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear ,Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear you found the rooms clean, and staff is vary nice . Thanks for the kind words about the service . See you next time!

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

There is a great value at this motel.The staff were friendly especially Jackie the lady who checked us in. Traveling with pets can be a challenge but these folks do a great job. We plan on visiting them again on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenawagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear ,Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear you found the rooms clean, and staff is vary nice . Thanks for the kind words for Jackie about the service . See you next time!

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Property: Red Roof Inn Staunton
Address: 42 Sangers Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-6712
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Flat screen tvs with 100 HD channels and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing