We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet Location”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was driving through the area and spent a night at this hotel. The room I had looked to be recently remodeled and was very clean. I would definitely stay here again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear ,Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear you found the rooms clean, and staff is vary nice . Thanks for the kind words about the service . See you next time!

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    163
    64
    18
    18
See reviews for
152
128
50
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beattyville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Spent two nights here in May, as I used Staunton as my base for a short day trip to Washington DC. I had previously stayed at the Microtel Inn here, as well as the Quality Inn. The Microtel was full and I needed something closer to the main highway into town (US 250) so that ruled out the Quality. The weekend I was there, most of the hotels and motels in the area were either full up or had raised their prices to outrageous levels because of UVA's graduation. (Seriously, $250 a night at the Hampton? Do they think I'm on crack or something?)

I opted for the Red Roof Inn because of its reasonable prices as well as decent reviews here on Trip Advisor. The room was comfortable and clean. It had a microwave and refrigerator, which was helpful. Exterior corridors allowed me to park right outside my room; that is when a bunch of motorcycles didn't have the lot all jammed up. There must have been some sort of motorcycle event going on in the area because the place was full of them.

Location is just off US 250 near I-81, just north of the I-64 split. Some restaurants are nearby, and there's a lot of shopping and other food choices on the other side of I-81, toward town. Five Guys, Sheetz, Walmart, Chili's and lots more.

There were a few shortcomings, however, that when put together allow me to only give this an "average" rating although it was a nice place to stay. Water pressure in the shower was very low. The wi-fi was extremely slow. Not a lot of electrical outlets available for plugging in the laptop, charging the various devices, etc. And there were very few channels available on the television. I thought the price was a bit high for the venue, but I didn't have a whole lot of choice in the area on this particular weekend.

I didn't get to have breakfast because I was in a hurry to go to DC on Saturday morning, and slept late on Sunday morning.

All in all, it was an OK stay. If you want a clean room with comfy beds, and don't mind slow wi-fi, low water pressure in the shower and little to choose from on the TV, then it will be a great place. Would I stay here again if in Staunton? I'd consider it. There was nothing to make me not want to stay, but I know there are better choices in the area so it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millenniumhwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I was happy to see that you noticed our recent renovations, we are in the process of updating all rooms. I apologize that WI-fi was slow.
Thank you again for taking the time to write about our motel and sharing your feedback with the travel community. I look forward to seeing you again .

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had another wonderful extended visit at the Staunton VA Red Roof Inn. The remodeling continues to be a work in progress. Almost new everything/everywhere. New and different bed spreads, new art hanging and the indoor pool renovation is well under way. The continental breakfast is very convenient with a very pleasant and well attended dining room. As usual, the staff and management were extremely friendly and accommodating. We will definitely continue to use this Red Roof Inn when visiting the Staunton area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghodges9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Hodges,Thanks for staying with us and for writing a second review online for others to read. I am so happy to hear you like the renovations and find us to be clean, and friendly staff. Thank you again for taking the time to write about our motel and sharing your feedback with the travel community. I look forward to seeing you again .


Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This Red Roof Inn is an average motel at average price. The staff is friendly. I can recommend for anyone. Clean and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Suffolk,Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear you found the rooms clean, and staff is vary nice .We done some room renovation and we are still improving the hotel so you will be sure to notice even more upgrades on your next visit. Thanks for the kind words about the service . See you next time!

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We just stopped here overnight for a second time, driving back home from a family visit to Massachusetts. It's the nicest Red Roof Inn we've ever stayed at. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was very nice. The continental breakfast was an extra plus, offering bagels, toast, mini muffins/donuts, three kinds of cereal, juice and coffee, just enough to get you on the road. The coffee was good and the breakfast area was kept clean and stocked. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookevillegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear,Thanks for staying with us and for writing a review online for others to read. I am so happy to hear you like the renovations and find us to be clean, cozy and convenient. Thanks for the kind words about breakfast item . I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.



Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, VA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Rooms are always clean and comfortable...staff is very accommodating and friendly. I stay here regularly for business and have never been disappointed. I work night shift and they are the only hotel who has been willing to work with that and allowed me to do early check ins. It is nice to walk in and they remember me from my last visit. I will continue to be a regular at this hotel. Price is right, the area is quiet and has all the conveniences you need close by, being a female travelling alone it is nice to feel safe and secure. They are super fast when responding to requests also...I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_nurse65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,Thank so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience online with others. I am so happy to hear you are a loyal guest here and look forward to continuing to welcome you back here. I am glad to hear the renovation are to your likings and we are still improving the hotel so you will be sure to notice even more upgrades on your next visit. Thanks for the kind words about the service . See you next time!

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deland,Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We found this inn by way of a coupon. It was comfortable and quiet. The room was large and clean. The beds were nice. The breakfast was just ok if you eat carbs and gluten. We took a little coffee in the morning and continued on our way feeling well rested.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rightwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Staunton
280 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Property: Red Roof Inn Staunton
Address: 42 Sangers Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-6712
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Flat screen tvs with 100 HD channels and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing