We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, quiet, friendly and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed at this property for one night in a King room.

I stay at RRI’s when I arrive late and leave early as they are generally clean, but have too few amenities for a longer stay. My room was adequate, clean and quiet. Good enough for six hours of sleep. This is an older RRI that has had some updating, but is not on par with some of the newer RRI properties. Especially their King rooms, which do not offer the RRI Executive king rooms with large workspaces and excellent lighting.

My room had functioning old style micro/fridge and 25” tube TV. Cold Breakfast is available, there is a McDonalds and Shoneys within walking distance.

The Good: Clean, Quiet, coffee in room, nice updated bathroom with tile floor and new tub surround and curtain. Some solid surface counters. Friendly desk staff.

The Bad: Pets are allowed, but no issues or noise problems during my stay. Remnants of older/non-updated components detract from the room. Old wooden doors, older dark, worn out furniture. SMALL desk is almost unusable for laptop work with few unused electrical outlets available for laptop/phone. Chairs were uncomfortable for work. The bed was hard as a rock and the pillows were so hard, I didn’t use them.

Overall I would give this property a 73/100 and 80/100 for value. While an OK stay, I may look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Manager at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We always appreciate feedback from our guests as this is what enables us to understand our guests' needs and serve them better in the future.
We are in the process of a total renovation. In particular, our King rooms will have new flooring, as well as new mattresses and furnishings.
I appreciate your comments about our friendly office staff. They strive to provide outstanding customer service to all our guests.
I look forward to meeting your lodging needs next time you are in the area and thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 479 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

Great reception at the Red Roof Inn in Staunton with efficient check in, after which we found a compact, neat, clean and modernized room. We had our pet, and it is so nice to stay in a clean room where they welcome pets. About an hour after we checked in, the desk called to inquire if everything was OK with the room. We haven't had this touch in 5 star hotels, and were very impressed. If you want a simple, clean ( I know I emphasize this, but it is very important to me!) room at a good value, you should consider this location. The front desk also recommended a great restaurant that delivered, and we enjoyed a quiet night in!
We only hope that pet owners appreciate places like the Red Roof, and honor their policies.
Small issue: no hair dryers in the room, so ask for one when you check in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runner03833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

While traveling from NY to NC with a 65 lbs dog, it is not easy to find a hotel that accepts pets. This Hotel graciously does just that.
Surprisingly the Inn is located off the Interstate so you don't hear all the traffic and the walls of the guest rooms are insulated with concrete, so you don't hear your neighbors either.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a quick sleep after a long day of playing and traveling. The room was huge, clean, well equipped. Things I look for - enough towels (yes), great shower (yes), clean beds (yes) and no funky smell in the room (yes). The staff was exceptionally helpful when we showed up shortly after midnight, and our 2 rooms were exactly as requested when we made reservations. Breakfast the next morning was a nice start to our day. We will definitely would stay here again. I couldn't believe how reasonable the price for the rooms were.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vthokie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We only stay at Red Roof Inns since we travel with a dog. This one was very clean and well appointed. We had a small table with two chairs, perfect for our take out meal in the room. The shower was excellent - it had ceramic-like panels on the walls and a nice looking shower curtain, not the usual plastic variety found in most motels. We also had a microwave and refrigerator along with the TV. We were very happy with our room.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The staff was very nice and friendly here. Even called our room to see if we had any issues. The beds, bathroom and counter tops were clean. No issues. Just wish there was a fridge in the room to keep some beverages cold, but otherwise no complaints.

Breakfast was assorted cereals/breads, donuts, assorted juices (apple and orange) and of course coffee. Enough to get you going. Location is close to the highway and right next to Shoney's.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank sgtmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Manager at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff at this location. I am very glad you had a very pleasant experience during your stay at the Red Roof Inn Staunton, VA. We pride ourselves with the cleanliness of our hotel. I apologize that you did not have a refrigerator in your room during your stay. We do have room types that have refrigerators and microwaves. I see that you were traveling as a couple, we have very nice superior kings with refrigerators and microwaves. I think you will find this type of room very comfortable for your next stay. I am glad you also enjoyed your breakfast during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to write about our hotel and sharing your feedback to the traveling community!

Regards,

Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
Red Roof Inn #706
i0706@redroof.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Red Roof Inn in Staunton VA for two nights; we would have moved after the first night but there were no rooms available in the vicinity. The receptionist was helpful, but our room was not satisfactory. Among the issues we encountered were:
1) The upholstery on the two chairs in the room was very badly stained, and we had to cover the chairs with towels before they could be sat upon.
2) Both the bedspread and blanket on the bed were stained.
3) An electrical outlet in the bathroom was not covered, leaving exposed wires.
4) The bathroom wall across from the commode was stained. It needs either a thorough cleaning or painting.
5) The walls of the room had several patched holes that created a shabby appearance.
6) We were in a non-smoking room, but cigarette smoke from somewhere else came through the “exhaust” vent in the bathroom making it unusable our first evening.

On the plus side, the room was a nice size, quiet, and the bed was comfortable. The tub and sink area were clean. The breakfast area also was clean and attended, with pleasant staff. But because of the bedraggled and rundown room, we would suggest this hotel only if no other options are available in Staunton.

Room Tip: Book a hotel or motel far in advance If you are visiting the Staunton vicinity in October so that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AP49092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Owner at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Please give me guest name to vary fey.

Thank You,
RAMILA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Staunton
Sleep Inn Staunton
#4 of 15 in Staunton
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Staunton
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Address: 42 Sangers Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-6712
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: $62 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Flat screen tvs with 100 HD channels and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing