We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No pool!”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Pictures show a pool. This pool is gone. The stay and rooms themselves were as expected, standard fare which is what I'm looking for. Bathroom door was split at the bottom, as if some one tried to kick it in. Sink is outside of the bathroom, rather inconvenient. Rooms otherwise looked renovated.

Booked smoking rooms but sign in rooms said non smoking. Receptionist said to ignore them.

Not too happy with red roof that when you book two rooms, only one goes to your points. Shooneys for breakfast and Cracker Barrel for dinner nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wetpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    163
    64
    18
    18
See reviews for
152
128
50
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bay, Al
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We were on our way to Pennsylvania and stopped for the night. The front desk was courteous and friendly. The room was clean and roomy. The best part is that they do not charge for pets. That is good for us since my wife insists on taking her cat every time we travel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talnettles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Property use to be an Shoney's Inn back in the 90's. Great rennovation apparently in the past few years to a Red Roof Inn. Quiet comfortable and very pleasant staff both in evening and morning. Breakfast is standard high carb but ok for getting on the road. And value for price is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treefarm_vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Great location with clean rooms, recently remodeled bathrooms and beautiful vanity tops. The staff was friendly, helpful and always focused on the customer’s needs.
In years past, I have stayed at this location numerous times and also recommended this location to many others. Each visit is a pleasant experience!
In the future, while in or near this area I plan to continue my overnight visits at this Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghodges9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penney Farms, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We nearly always stop at Red Roof Inns if one is on our route, so we've seen a lot of them. This one was exceptional in the room decor and cleanliness, the availability of a breakfast in a small dining area, and the friendliness of the staff. Easy on-and-off the highway.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room not sure all upgraded yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gizzymoidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

on way down to florida stopped here. chose it because it is right off 81 and is pet friendly.

checked into room 129.

Upon entering room noticed carpet was torn. not a good start.

The bathroom had some mold around edges of tub. Not impressive.

Upon further inspection saw two bugs on ceiling. Got bags, put them in car and checked out.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarnisLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Manager at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize you did not have a good first impression of our hotel during your visit to our location in January. We have since remodeled over 50% of our rooms with new bedding, new tubs, new shower walls, and light fixtures. We feel confident that you find the changes suitable to your lodging needs. We are also in the process of putting in laminate flooring in all our rooms.

We hope when you are in the Staunton, VA area again, you will give you another opportunity to serve your lodging needs.

Regards,

Ramila Desai
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, IL
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

My husband and I had a horrible experience at this motel. Due to the fall colors and other events happening around town, this was one of the very few rooms available for the date we needed. I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and they all seemed to indicate this place would be clean and adequate for the night. So we reserved the room about a month in advance. We arrived at the Red Roof around 7 P.M. only to be given a room that was a nightmare. The first problem was that door to the room would not open. The key worked but the door was jammed shut. The person working at the desk had to come to the room to force the door open. He explained that this "happens sometimes and that we shouldn't have any other problems with the door". When we got into the room the first thing we noticed was that it was not the type of room we reserved. We reserved a king non-smoking room and were given a room with 2 double beds. Then we noticed bugs crawling on the walls, curtains, and ceiling. We immediately requested a new room but were told that there weren't any others available. The person at the front desk said "those are just june bugs in the room and are harmless". Interesting that he knew what type of bug was in the room without even stepping a foot inside to look at them. This indicates to me that they knew about the bug problem. We then spent the next 3 hours either on the phone with Red Roof reservations or searching for another hotel room in the area. Unfortunately we could not find anything available. Our choice was to sleep in the car or the room. Since it was in the 30's at night, we decided to return to the room. We stopped at the front desk again asking if they could bug bomb the room or do something to get rid of the bugs. We were told no! So my husband said he would try to kill the bugs crawling and flying around the room. He ended up killing over a dozen of these bugs. When we went back to the room the key didn't work at all. So, I made yet another trip to the front desk to get new keys. Looking around the room we could see stains on the wall and also on the bed skirt. In my opinion the room was disgusting and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. On top of everything they also over charged us for the room. They charged us more than the amount on the e-mail reservation when the room was booked. When we brought this to their attention they did correct the mistake.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woowoochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Manager at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. My apologies for the delayed response to your posting. We have just recently learned how to use Trip Advisor to reach out to our guests. I do realize it has been over one year since your post. I hope you will take this note as a sincere gesture to welcome you back to this location again in the near future.

Guest Service is a #1 priority for us at the Red Roof In Staunton, VA. We did not meet your needs. We have since remodeled over 50% of our rooms at this time. We are confident you will find the changes to your satisfaction. As for the bug issues you mentioned, the Staunton, VA area experienced a large population of "stink bugs" in our region. Although this is a natural phenomenon, for guests not use to the Virginia area may be shocked by these bugs and feel that the cleanliness of the hotel is less than par.

You also mentioned the key issues and also the billing issues you experienced. I am thankful you did mention that we did resolve these issues for you. At times, the issues you experienced do take place. It is very unfortunate so many of these items took place and affected your stay all at once in one night.

When you are in the Staunton, VA area again, I would like to personally invite you back to this location. Again, I feel confident you will be delighted at the changes we have made at this location with our service and quality of our rooms. Please contact me directly to reserve your next stay, it would be my pleasure to have you at my hotel again in the near future.

Regards,

Ramila Desai
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Staunton
280 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Property: Red Roof Inn Staunton
Address: 42 Sangers Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-6712
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Flat screen tvs with 100 HD channels and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing