We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Staunton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Staunton
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Overpriced.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2007

We had a $48 discount rate -- & pitied the poor fool who checked in right after us & paid the $72 rack rate -- it certainly wasn't worth that. I'd call this a motel rather than a hotel -- it had all exterior corridors. The outside landscaping was nice, though. The room was pretty large (but may have seemed so partly because it contained double beds rather than queens). It was clean, but needs rehab -- the carpet shows wear at the seams, the tub had been refinished but the coating was chipping & peeling (about a third of it had peeled off). The bathroom wallpaper was peeling badly at the seams, especially behind the door, and what looks like black mildew was visible where it was peeling off. The advertised WiFi signal was too weak in the rooms. We and at least 2 other guests had to bring our laptops to the lobby to get a signal. Front desk clerk was very friendly, but . . . another guest came to the desk to ask for an extra set of sheets (ours is not to wonder why . . .) but were told that none were available. Yet another guest was overheard on the phone asking for help getting an outside line from their room phone. The clerk told them how, but they soon called back because it still wasn't working. The clerk didn't know why it wasn't working -- her only idea was to come to the lobby & call from there. The room heater/AC fan was noisy. The hot water was OK at night, but at 7:30 a.m. on a Saturday 2 of us tried to shave & shower but the hot was running out. The 2nd one had a totally cold shower. The unimaginative breakfast consisted of hard boiled eggs, blueberry muffins, white bagels & bread to toast, peanut butter, cream cheese, margarine, & Jelly; whole & 2% milk, 2 kinds of cereal, 3 kinds of juice, & coffee. We were in town to see a Shakespeare play at the Blackfriar's Playhouse, which was delightful. We would definitely get a different hotel next time, though.

  • Liked — our $48 discount rate
  • Disliked — See our comments -- there's got to be a better place to stay in Staunton.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sojourners4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    29
    18
    25
See reviews for
22
29
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

The room was very clean but beginning to be a little shabby. There was a gap around our outside door that showed a good deal of daylight. The beds were very hard doubles with sheets that barely covered them making it very difficult for two people to stayed covered while sleeping. The air conditioner worked well cooling the room but sounded like it was about to fly apart. Breakfast is offered but on our first morning they had run out of almost everything by 8 a.m. and couldn't be restocked until a truck arrived later in the day. The next morning there was a fair assortment of breakfast foods and plenty of seating in the dining room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank deblykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Staunton hotels

Syracuse NY
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

The front clerk was nice and he gave my wife a roll away cot for no charge. The problem is the AC units, they are very very LOUD!...
It was difficult sleeping when the AC unit wakes you up everytime it goes on and off....
The swimming pool was nice.
There is not resturant at this Hotel

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank March00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

The other reviews are overly complementary. Compared to other Choice Hotels properties this one is sorely needing an update. Grungy bathtub, old fixtures, and a room that smelled like BO when I walked in. Is it OK? Sure. But is it the 'quality' that expect from a Choice Hotel? No. I choose them because they are comfortable, and this one wasn't.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiceGuyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2007

We arrived at 4 pm on a friday. We checked in quickly and unpacked our car. Went to use the restroom and the light was not working. I called the front desk. They said No one was working that would be able to fix it , so they would have to call someone in. After thinking about it for 5 minutes I just went to the the office and requested another room. There were tons of rooms available since we had arrived so early. We were quickly assigned another room without hassle. I figured no one would show up to fix a light. The hotel was not booked that night. The rooms were clean, a nice pool area, nothing fancy, the usually vending areas a washer and dryer.
The continental breakfast is very basic, toast, cereal, muffins, yogurt and some fruit. No hot items, but it was plenty enough.
This is out in the country, exit 222 is where the city is and that is where we had to go to have dinner, and get gas. They are a few choices there Chilis, Shoneys, Ryans, we chose Lone Star steakhouse it was very good.
So I would stay there again. To get closer to the city it was 20$ a night more because we also had a small dog with us.

  • Liked — accepted pets
  • Disliked — not near resturants or gas stations
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2007

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The rooms are extremely clean and up to date. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and knew their job well. We needed directions to our destination and the lady at the desk gave us excellent directions and told exactly how long it would take us to get there and she always had a smile on her face. They don't treat you as an inconvience. They are more than happy to help you with whatever you need. It was very quiet and we had no problems with noise from the other guests. We are already making plans to go back next year and this will be the only hotel that we will consider.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TnTravelin'family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2006

We stayed here several nights in October 2006 and we will definitely return to this motel. The rooms were spacious, clean, and had a lot of amenities in the room (microwave, refrigerator, iron, coffee maker, hair dryer) and the location of the motel was convenient right off of the interstate. They also offered continental breakfast. We were happy to see that it was also a "pet-friendly" motel since we were traveling with our poodle. I would highly recommend this to other travelers and we will return ourselves.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank luvroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Staunton North
Days Inn Staunton North
#13 of 15 in Staunton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Staunton

Property: Motel 6 Staunton
Address: 96 Baker Lane, Staunton, VA 24401 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Motel-6, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Staunton
Quality Inn Staunton
Staunton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing