We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a stopover.”
Review of Motel 6 Staunton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Staunton
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK for a stopover.”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We needed a place to stay due to delays from a freak Oct snowstorm and this one was convenient and decently priced compared to others in the area. Property is an older one with exterior room entrances but room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast offerings were average with the scrambled eggs looking like powdered, they were all small pancake shaped and were just warm, not hot. Had a problem with the bath cold water faucet: it turned on but would not turn off as the splines on the valve stem were worn off and the screw was loose. The tub almost overflowed before I found a metal nail file to use as a screwdriver to tighten the screw and turn it off - that also suggests the tub drain needed cleaning out. There was no maintenance person available at the time. The fridge and microwave were nice additions and both worked fine.

This property is not located very near restaurants so dining out required at least a 5-10 min drive. The desk had a list of places and we ended up going into Staunton which turned out to be quite nice. Due to the college there, there are more places to eat and see than you would expect; it is worth the trip into town to look around.

Room Tip: Be sure to inspect your room to see if everything works to your satisfaction, especially the plumbin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank etntripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    29
    20
    25
See reviews for
24
31
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Upon check in, I asked the person behind the front desk how to get to town. (The town we were staying in) He gave me a vague answer and referred me to the poorly printed map they had sitting out. I wanted to get to the center of downtown where in a brochure saw that they had a nice park and some shops. I thought we could walk around with our 2 children and enjoy some time at the park. The front desk person did not seem to be familiar with the town at all. I later sent my husband to ask before we went to town for some better direction. He experienced the same thing and then luckily there was a maintence person walking through the lobby who was able to give some direction.

When we opened up our room after checking in, we found a huge black bug on the comforter. My son said it was a cecada, all I know it was huge. I sent my husband immediately to get us a new room. While we waited near the old room, a cleaning lady came by and took the comforter off, catching the bug and let it go in the parking lot. She said she would get us a new comforter, I told her we were waiting for a new room.

The new room looked liked it had not been cleaned in a bit of time, not that it was dirty from a previous guest, but it was dusty. It could have been wiped down regularly in between guests.

The breakfast was not as nice as other Quality Inns that we had stayed in. There were a few stale bagels and the eggs seemed to be powdered eggs formed into a circle patty. Not very appetizing looking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Staunton hotels

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I picked to stay at this hotel because they allowed us to bring our three cats with us (most hotels will only allow 2)

Though the property and the rooms were small and old it was all very clean and I was surprised at how much we were given. I was shocked that there was both a microwave and a refrigerator in our room. I've never had one come standard even in the more upscale hotels I've stayed at. The bed was also very comfortable, I'm 23 weeks pregnant and didn't have a problem falling asleep.

The swimming pool and lobby were all clean and well maintained. I am extremely impressed with everything we got for the price

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ladykyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here with out Motorcycle Group; "All Aero Ride". Good stay. BIG pool. Other than their WiFi being out, everything went smooth

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACRanger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
367 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This is an older roadside property that has seen its better days. Coffee maker broken, chipped enamel in tub, carpet dirty, etc. It's located right off I-81 but in an isolated, quiet, safe area, close enough to Staunton to serve your needs. Friendly staff; pedestrian breakfast..

This place is a bit on the down side of average for a budget, exterior-corridor hotel but I've been to worse and for one night, you'll survive just fine

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, away from I-81
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waldentenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We were quite impressed with this hotel. Great thought has gone into the decorating; the furniture--beds, sofa, chairs, even the chairs in the dining area--was VERY comfortable. The bathrooms were nicely appointed. Access was easy-off, easy-on the interstate system, and the area feels safe. Very nice stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5pgp750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beattyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
162 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This motel is located off I-81 in Staunton, Va., It's isolated from the rest of the Staunton exits but not too terribly far away. It's easy to get to all the restaurants and stores the next exit south on US 250. The motel itself is very nice. The room was very nice and comfortable, wi-fi worked well even though I was on the back side of the building. Was able to park outside my room and there were no safety issues. Would have had a nice view of the mountains had it not been dark and raining by the time I got there. Very good shower pressure and plenty of hot water. Clean room, comfortable bed, fridge & microwave. Breakfast was adequate. They had sausage patties but no biscuits or muffins. The price was right and I will definitely plan to stay here again should I need a room in Staunton.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millenniumhwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Staunton North
Days Inn Staunton North
#13 of 15 in Staunton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Staunton

Property: Motel 6 Staunton
Address: 96 Baker Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-9253 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Motel-6, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Motel 6 Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Staunton
Quality Inn Staunton
Staunton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing