We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Bread” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newtown Bakery

Newtown Bakery
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Staunton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Whenever I go to Staunton to visit my mom I hope that we either go to the Newtown Bakery or she has some of their delicious bread at home. Recently we went and I had the best pastry and coffee. My son enjoyed watching the men working making the bread.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2ndGradeMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    6
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
“Awesome Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Spectacular coffee and muffins still warm at 0800. The pastries were HUGE and tasty...can't go wrong with this place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful bakery in Staunton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

You cannot go wrong with the offerings at Newtown Baking. The breads are great, and the selection varies. The pastries are yummy, seasonal, and not gooped up with heavy sugar frosting.They carry both sweet and savory. I especially love the seeded baguette and the wholewheat loaf.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank professoressadarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best bakery in Virginia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

These guys have great products! They have breakfast pastries, breads, cookies, and they also offer lunch. I'm a BIG fan of the olive bread-- YUM! The only downside is that they are not open all week so call ahead to find out their schedule.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boiledpeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newtown Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing