We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Aioli

Aioli
Ranked #9 of 132 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Gahanna, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I really enjoyed this place. The room was large and might get noisy on a busy night, but it was fine on the Wednesday evening we were there. The waitress was friendly and knowledgable about the menu. She responded quickly to our requests and did a fine job. The food was the best part. They served a mixed squash bisque that was one of the best I've ever tasted. I had the pork loin which was tender and perfectly cooked. The flavors of the sauce and side dishes still make my mouth water. My dinner companion had the salmon and she said it was excellent as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    48
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lemoyne, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another don't miss place”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Mediterranean cuisine (not pasta and red sauce) which is just delicious. Good wine list. A really pretty restaurant. Smallish but excellent selection of entrees and a much larger selection of tapas.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffmcdowell519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Prices are a bit on the high side”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and I ate here and shared three different tapas. The food was delicious, the service was good, but the prices (especially the entree prices) are too high.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dbae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not spectacular”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is a nice choice, alternative, in downtown Staunton, but hardly (for us) the spectacular eating experience reported by others. (For starters, we are not wine drinkers, so that rave for others has no bearing here.) We had four tapas, shared, plus a soup. The special soup (asparagus) had no sign of asparagus in the neighborhood. It was a nice cream base. The hummus was average - spiced slightly, but I've had many better. The crimini mushrooms were (by the menu) marinated - but I couldn't detect any marinade flavor. They were adequately sauteed, in oil and garlic. The mussels were "diabolo" - very nicely spiced. They were small (which is OK), but there were four empties on the platter - not acceptable. The sauce made nice sopping for the baguette slices - which is what mussels should always provide. Service was so-so - the restaurant wasn't full (at 6:30), so there was no excuse for our server not delivering a requested item a couple times (like a second beer). The manager (?) came by, and asked if things were good (2 or 3 times), which was fine, but she floated away each time beforef I could give any details. I'm glad this place is available, for an enticing alternative in Staunton, but it didn't quite live up to its hype. I'll give it another try, and try some other dishes.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank allanC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tellysurf
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quaint, Intimate and Delicious”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We lucked into getting a table without a reservation on a Friday night. It's a small, narrow space and popular around 6pm, so it fills up fast. We couldn't decide on an appetizer so the waitress recommended what they offer as a sort of sample platter. The olive remoulade wasn't amazing! For our dinner we ordered off the tapas menu: pita and hummus, chicken and peanut skewers, soup and another dish that I can't remember. We were not disappointed. We also ordered Sangria which was well made. A group of more than 6 might be a little hard to seat in this restaurant and you will definitely tax the the experience of other diners if you have too loud a group.

Next time we will definitely make a reservation because we don't want to miss out on the food. I will also order off the entree menu if my hunger was as intense as it was my first time eating there (servings of tapas are basically appetizer size). Attire can be casual (I was in jeans and a hooded jacket) but most diners are on the pleasant side of casual or casual side of formal.

Helpful?
1 Thank tellysurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aioli also viewed

 

Been to Aioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing