We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #19 of 132 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: we offer buffet as well as dinner menu . this is fine dine indian cusine which is located at the heart of staunton downtown.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I hadn't eaten at an Indian restaurant since London twenty years ago. My memory of that experience didn't encourage me to revisit the cuisine. Fast forward to 2014. I had already eaten in nearly every restaurant in downtown Staunton, so I thought I would give Taste of India a try. There weren't many diners in the place, which might be interpreted as a bad sign, but it proved to have a silver lining. I had little idea of what to order, but was helped by the attentive owner, who explained each dish that I asked about. It turns out that Indian food offers plenty of choices to vegetarians, and though I am not one, I decided to try vegetarian dishes for my dinner. Everything was tasty and provided new and exotic, but somewhat familiar, flavors for me. Bonus: good craft beer is available in bottles. Good food. Polite, attentive service. Reasonable price. What more could ask for?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWheatberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    46
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, MD
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delectable Indian fare”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

When on the road and craving a mouth-watering, nutritious meal, Indian cuisine -- if you can find it -- is usually a good bet. Taste of India doesn't disappoint in that regard; in fact, it's a small gem. Twice, on visits to Staunton to see plays at the American Shakespeare Center, we've enjoyed their lunch buffet -- happily available on weekends as well as during the week. There's a nice variety of fare, including soup and dessert -- and onion bhajis so yummy one could almost make a meal of them. Main dishes, which are rotated, include things like tandoori chicken, curried garbanzos, and chicken tikka masala. All of this at a modest price, in an attractive dining room, with gracious service. What's not to like?!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cadenzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Taste of India is the best Indian restaurant in America. Staunton is worth traveling for tastings of the restaurant's cuisine. The restaurant looks like a regular, but the food tastes heavenly. We found this restaurant through recommendations of TripAdvisor. The restaurant staff was very friendly and advised to take a look at local attractions also. Chicken korma was a good choice, the best chicken korma we've ever eaten at any restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HOHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Caring Indian Family Restaurant”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This restaurant stayed open for us during a snowstorm last year, and when we passed through again we had to stop. The owner serves the drinks, his wife serves the food, and it was all lovely. The atmosphere is typical open floor- not glamorous. There are very pedestrian house wines on the menu, but on request, the Owner will open a bottle of something more interesting - he has a collection. We shared a bottle of Virginia red that was very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Va
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ethnic Food in small town Virginia”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Taste of India has been a great addition to food options in Staunton, Virginia. The venue is pleasant, welcoming, and with the appropriate decor, the wait staff friendly and capable. There is an impressive variety of menu options, with your choice of the level of spices, from mild to Indian hot (for me, "mild" is a bit TOO mild; medium suits my taste buds). Beverages include several lassi options, beer and wine, including Indian beers. Prices are moderate, with the lunch buffet being the best bargain, offering novices an opportunity to sample a variety of Indian (well, the cook is actually Nepalese) dishes at a very low price. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BealsKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing