We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Order the pork tostada or the filet! Gorgeous!!!”

Byers Street Bistro
Ranked #4 of 129 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Order the pork tostada or the filet! Gorgeous!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Great selection and fairly priced for the quality and care put into each dish. We dined outside on the patio both times we visited. As foodies from RI, this place did not disappoint!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pickleypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    192
    37
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Garden, Virginia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Another Great "Wharf" location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This Grill/Bar is another great restaurant in Staunton's Warehouse district (AKA The Wharf). The food is typical upscale bar fare and not bad but this is more of a gathering place. The small patio doesn't offer great views but it does provide a quiet place to chat with your companions while people-watching. Easy parking and a short walk to the train station and/or downtown Staunton. Good place to meet friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptMancuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well deserved reputation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped in for lunch on Labor Day after visiting the Woodrow Wilson library and museum. Very reasonable prices and excellent food. The salads are generous, fresh and the dressings were not just the same as you find elsewhere - they were fresh and delicious. There is a nice outdoor seating are also.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna T, Manager at Byers Street Bistro, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you all for stopping in on your Labor Day weekend!! All of our dressings are made in house and we appreciate your feedback of them being " not just the same" as others. We hope to see you all again while passing through next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch spot and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I had lunch at Byers over the Labor Day 2013 weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The wait staff is friendly and took good care of us. The menu is reasonably priced and has plenty to choose from. You really can't go wrong with any of the sandwiches or wraps. The waffle fries are dynamite! There is also a good amount of outside seating if the weather is good. This bistro is also within a few minutes walk to the main section of downtown Staunton and is next to a nice coffee shop and glass blowing studio. I highly recommend making a stop here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank z1lawdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna T, Manager at Byers Street Bistro, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I would like to take a moment to personally thank you for just an outstanding review, not only for the food but also our waitstaff !! i hope that you enjoyed your Labor Day weekend and we look forward to seeing you all again!!
Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We used Trip Advisor to find this restaurant and it exceeded our expectation. From the wonderful Malbec wine for $27 to the white chocolate key lime pie, it was delightful. The bacon and corn hush puppies are not to be missed. Scallops and sweet potato hash was delicious. Vegetable risotto perfectly cooked. Very reasonably priced. Before tax and tip, bill for wine and 3 courses was $80. Worth a stop--just off I81.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byers Street Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Byers Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing