We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smalltown old-fashioned food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beverley - CLOSED

The Beverley
Price range: $5 - $7
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Smalltown old-fashioned food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Beverley has no pretensions. It just offers food reminiscent of a 1950s diner in an even older setting. Breakfast was medium good at medium pricing, though my husband loved the scrapple. My biggest kick was seeing all the very old locals who appeared to be daily customers treated like family. The antithesis of the corporate dining experience. Will return for the pie next time because all flavors on display looked really beautiful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eileen645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
IN
Level Contributor
145 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Down Home Cookin' and Friendliness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ate lunch at The Beverley, it was like going back into time; old and unique breakfast/lunch spot. The food was homemade good, the prices fair and waitresses EXTREMELY PLEASANT and 'down home'. We both ordered hamburgers and fried potatoes. Now THAT is what a hamburger should taste like! YUMMY! My husband also ordered a piece of coconut meringue pie, with the meringue piled sky-high. Staunton is a quaint town in the Shenandoah Valley; I felt like Andy or Barney would come walking thru the door any minute. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indybindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice place to visit, staff friendly, old world feel to the place with photos etc. food was very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ipl255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't go here of you want to eat!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Waited for 15 minutes and nobody came to take our order. Walked out! Been here in the past and the service was always sub par. Food decent but not a healthy menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher2998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Homecooked Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great omelettes and biscuits & gravy - all homemade by the owners! You can really tell they care about their customers. I would go back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing