We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch but lots of choices”

The Pampered Palate Cafe
Ranked #18 of 131 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Late lunch but lots of choices”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stopped in mid-afternoon after a very nice tour of the Woodrow Wilson Museum and Home for a little late lunch. The white bean and ham soup was quite tasty and hot, accompanied by 1/2 grilled cheese sandwich with a side of soup. A little light butter on the grilled sandwich would have been good, it had plenty of cheddar cheese. I gave the very good rating for the soup; good homemade soup can be hard to come by. The staff was pleasant and I thought the 6.25 price was reasonable for all the meal included.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    48
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Everyone loves the Pampered Palette”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great lunches: salads that are not drowned in dressing, creative sandwiches, good soups. Variety abounds. Good wait staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank professoressadarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Don't order a grilled cheese”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Based on the kind of cool vibe and wine laying around we got the impression this would be good. No.

We went for lunch. It took 40 minutes for our order. I ordered pita and hummus to share. It came one minute before my salad and friends sandwich. So who would want it then? And if it was homemade I suggest they just buy from the grocery store. You could stick a fork straight up in it it was so thick and dry and it would stay. I should have sent it back but the (one) server never came back and we had to leave because of the time.

My said was good - it was their special with apples but crammed onto a small plate so huge mess. My friend ordered the grilled cheese. What a hoot. Toasted bread with melted cheese in the middle. No grilling involved. But after sitting for 40 minutes you have to eat it!

I can't remember what it cost but i do remember being horrified considering how bad and slow it was. If I'd only ordered the salad I would have thought the place was good . . .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lrmdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Too pricey”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Unfortunately, we came for their web advertised expresso special and they refused to honor it. The place was pricey, but decent. Lunch shouldn’t cost $35 for two but I am spoiled on better deals.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cordial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Mills, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a light supper here. The food was good. I had Quiche Lorraine & a salad. My wife had a stuffed baked potato with salad. They offered a number of toppings for the potatos. The carrot cake was also good. We rarely order dessert.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pampered Palate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing