We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late lunch but lots of choices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pampered Palate Cafe

The Pampered Palate Cafe
Ranked #16 of 127 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Late lunch but lots of choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stopped in mid-afternoon after a very nice tour of the Woodrow Wilson Museum and Home for a little late lunch. The white bean and ham soup was quite tasty and hot, accompanied by 1/2 grilled cheese sandwich with a side of soup. A little light butter on the grilled sandwich would have been good, it had plenty of cheddar cheese. I gave the very good rating for the soup; good homemade soup can be hard to come by. The staff was pleasant and I thought the 6.25 price was reasonable for all the meal included.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    47
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Everyone loves the Pampered Palette”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great lunches: salads that are not drowned in dressing, creative sandwiches, good soups. Variety abounds. Good wait staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank professoressadarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don't order a grilled cheese”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Based on the kind of cool vibe and wine laying around we got the impression this would be good. No.

We went for lunch. It took 40 minutes for our order. I ordered pita and hummus to share. It came one minute before my salad and friends sandwich. So who would want it then? And if it was homemade I suggest they just buy from the grocery store. You could stick a fork straight up in it it was so thick and dry and it would stay. I should have sent it back but the (one) server never came back and we had to leave because of the time.

My said was good - it was their special with apples but crammed onto a small plate so huge mess. My friend ordered the grilled cheese. What a hoot. Toasted bread with melted cheese in the middle. No grilling involved. But after sitting for 40 minutes you have to eat it!

I can't remember what it cost but i do remember being horrified considering how bad and slow it was. If I'd only ordered the salad I would have thought the place was good . . .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lrmdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Too pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Unfortunately, we came for their web advertised expresso special and they refused to honor it. The place was pricey, but decent. Lunch shouldn’t cost $35 for two but I am spoiled on better deals.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cordial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Mills, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a light supper here. The food was good. I had Quiche Lorraine & a salad. My wife had a stuffed baked potato with salad. They offered a number of toppings for the potatos. The carrot cake was also good. We rarely order dessert.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pampered Palate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Pampered Palate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing