We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good authentic Italian - Needs Some Attention to Detail”

Emilio's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 130 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Raphine, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very Good authentic Italian - Needs Some Attention to Detail”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My wife and I have eaten at Emilo's twice now. The food is very good - some of the best cannelloni I have ever had, and the chicken franscesco was equally good. The gnocci was not bad, though they use ricotta rather than potato. The coconut ice served in a coconut shell is a "must have" for dessert - absolutely delicious.
The service is good with some gaps. The first time we went, the restaurant was nearly empty on a Saturday afternoon. The waiter, who had been very good with taking our order and bringing our food, must have gone on extended break. We waited about 15 minutes between finishing dinner, and receiving our bill.
We ate there this past Saturday, when they had a party of 40 upstairs. Our waiter (same one - first initial C) was more efficient than when they were not busy. He was very friendly and got the food out quickly. We would request him again given the improvement and good attitude.
The problem was his young colleague (her first initial A) who frequently ran down the stairs at full speed after serving the party upstairs, oblivious to the fact that this is inappropriate in a fine restaurant, and disturbing to customers. Finally, during this visit, there was the clear smell of cigar or cigarette smoke wafting through the restaurant - we almost left. The staff denied that anyone was smoking, so not sure if it was the kitchen staff, or the customers upstairs. So there are some training issues and a possible smoking issue. Otherwise a very good choice. Incidentally, the lunch prices are excellent (10 dollars a person), and dinner much more expensive.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kcfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    61
    44
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
189 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Long way for a lousy meal...”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

After reading reviews decided to try the restaurant while in the area. We were disappointed for the lunch service. True, we arrived at almost 2pm...(we were on vacation time) they were still serving. There was another couple finishing their meal. We ordered the special-crab cake sub...and a cup of lobster bisque. The soup was decent, nothing special. The crab cake was awful, no flavor or seasoning and tiny. The bread wasn't terrible. The waiter did suggest a good wine, which we appreciated but otherwise...the food was bad. The place was musty smelling and did look a bit in need of a good cleaning. Our waiter after changing all the tables over to dinner setup disappeared and I had to go look for him in the kitchen. One of the prep cooks went and found him outside, having a smoke I presume. I then explained our problem with the food. He offered to get us something else by then it was getting much too late and we just wanted to leave. We paid for the wine and soup and called it a day. Perhaps we should have stuck with pasta.....

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank char1scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Made a reservation at this restaurant for a Thurs eve. The service was excellent. The atmosphere is relaxed as is the speed of the place. Please do not be in a hurry when you go, the service is attentive - but not fast. We enjoyed the evening. The food was also excellent. We had the special of the day whick was a large portion of grilled Salmon with a butter lemon sauce. It was excellent. The wine by the glass was a little pricy, but not overly so. The evening was definately not inexpensive, but for a special occasion, Emilio's was great.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank daskoterzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet dining with excellent authentic Italian cuisine.”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Very prompt, courteous service. Lunch was very tasty and cooked to order.
Owner was present and spoke pleasantly with us for some time.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 120VINCENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“supper”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

chicken piccata had too many capers, bad service, convenient location

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank karen34496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emilio's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Emilio's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing