We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food in downtown Staunton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clocktower Restaurant & Bar

Clocktower Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #8 of 127 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food in downtown Staunton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We felt the decor was attractive, and the service was prompt and friendly. We especially appreciated the fact that we could actually hear each other speak (i.e., calm atmosphere as opposed to a raucous din). We ordered a chicken panini and a pastrami sandwich (each came with homemade chips, and both were delicious). In fact, we enjoyed the sandwich enough to order another to eat later in the day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    99
    31
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
478 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good food and good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The food was very good there. All of our food came out very well. We were stuff. The service was good. We were help but a few people. Good reommendation if you find yourself downtown at dinnertime. We will go back to this restaurant if we are ever back in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank matjaz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Tasty sandwich (turkey, spinach & artichoke salad) and made-on-the-premises potato chips, along with a pint of Starr Hill Grateful Pale Ale. Good food, good service and a reasonable price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWheatberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had lunch with a friend here this week and we both got the Fish and Chips special of the day. The fish was flaky and tender and the home-made chips were delightful. Service was fast and friendly.
Good recommendation if you find yourself downtown at lunchtime.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank-Staunton-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly; very affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nice neighborhood kind of restaurant/bar; suitable for families; varied menu; the food was home made and the vegetable medley was all fresh vegetables, and cooked perfectly.
Wait staff was exceedingly friendly, and my daughter and I had a very pleasant meal before walking the three blocks over to the American Shakespeare Center for the play last night. All in all a very pleasant visit to Staunton

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeremy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clocktower Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Clocktower Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing