We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service & Casual Dining”

Clocktower Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #9 of 132 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Service & Casual Dining”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Arrived later than expected but was received with exceptional personal greeting and outstanding service. Server "Kendra" was a gem and really exceeded expectations.
The French Onion Soup is outstanding, best in the valley.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    108
    32
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Awesome food (the bread is amazing), wonderful atmosphere and great service. A perfect meal in every way!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ornursemalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Casual dining and good food!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner at the Clocktower Restaurant. We ate in the main area on the first floor so I can't speak to the smoke that was mentioned by other reviewers (there was none where we were). Our waitress was very very helpful - especially to the youngest of our group who has food allergies. Our dinner was prepared well and it was a very enjoyable experience. This is casual dining so it's not too fancy and there isn't a lot of polish - but it was a nice atmosphere for us. The manager came over to inquire how everything was - a good sign that they are really trying to monitor how things are going.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Estaltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Stop the backroom smoking, I beat you would make more profit by having those people step outside, buy a drink rather”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

walking up the stairs and smoking. love the place but can not handle the smoke.. More people are going elsewhere, because of that.. Try it, it worked else where. Expecially my business, and friends,. love the place. More partiers than smokers everytme I've been in there. People burned by dancers on the floor and /or trying to get to the bar. Several people with me had been burned by ashes and peole flicking the ashes on the floor. Expecially after they have been drinking.. Many burns on shirts and skins, but not anymore until the policy changes, especially with my friends and guests. Great staff and menu, But the smoke still filters into the restaurant, Speaking with others, they would rather go elsewhere than put up with the smoke and smell. does not do much for an appetite for a good dinner or a food order in the back room. You run a very nice restaurant except for allowng that in the building.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clocktower27, Owner at Clocktower Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting our Night Club, which is the Back Bar of the Clocktower, DOWNTOWN 27 and completing the review. This specific site with Trip Advisor is designed to review our Restaurant only, which you did mention in part in your review. You quoted that we had

“Great staff and menu” and ended with “You run a very nice restaurant except for allowing that in the building”. Thank you for those kind words!

Trying to rate both places under the same name is really not fair to our Restaurant as our Night Club is a totally separate venue. We apologize for your inconvenience with the smoking issue in the back but that is a business decision we made several years ago. Having people going in and out of the building all night to smoke was a logistical crowd control nightmare. We felt that because of the high ceilings and smoke ventilation fans inside the building, the issue was being kept in control as much as it possibly can be but anyone who objects to that environment, is given their entrance fee back upon demand without question. For now we will continue to run our Club in that same manner, as we feel it is not only the most profitable BUT the safest! We will miss anyone who chooses not to be around this environment, but we most definitely understand.

Given the explanation I do not feel that a terrible review is warranted.

Thank you!
The Owners, Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Glad we tried it!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

As new york people traveling through, and just stopping overnight, we are fully dependent on phone apps to choose the best experience in an unfamiliar place. Since the reviews on yelp were mostly bad, we were a bit leery of trying this place. But the waits at the other places were too long for my hungry kids so we tried it. We are so glad that we came upon it! Everyone loved their food; I got the cajun shrimp and grits and it was deelish! Our waitress Heather was very attentive and totally sweet (the opposite of a review I read); the bartender recommended a local IPA that we loved! The manager even came over to chat. All in all I am writing this review because this place deserves your business! Try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suchaperfectday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clocktower Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Clocktower Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing