We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick service, good peanuts, easy to find” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Guys - CLOSED

Five Guys
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
497 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Quick service, good peanuts, easy to find”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just off I-81 we were served quickly and munched on peanuts. The burger was a bit too big, and the portion of fries was gigantic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisandroVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Just the best hamburger out there!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent food!!!!!! Great deal!!!!!!! If you are by yourself I recommend you only get the "little" French fry. It is still more than one person can eat!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbenge63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Five Guys & Fries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Greeted at the door by Samantha. Order was taken by Samantha. As always the burgers and fries are the best. But Samantha was a ball of fire. While we had dinner, she asked if we needed anything, how was our dinner and also if she could take our trash. She stayed busy with other customers, cleaned tables, the floor and the windows in the doors. We we so impressed with this young lady. She had a fabulous smile, pleasant and had good manners! Customer service and good food, we'll return! Samantha should be compensated for her excellent job!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PoppyC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Five Guys is great, most people know that. Back in the day, this place was called "Shorty's", it was locally owned and operated. They renovated the old Shorty's to now accommodate Five Guys and the food is still great. The best part for me was that we could eat outside and they brought the food to you. My 6 yr old loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amberleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great burgers and fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Every now and then my husband and I just want a casual place to go eat something that we don't get often. Five Guys is the place! It's nearby in beautiful Staunton and convenient. For an awesome burger made with what/how you want, "fresh" french fries.............from real potatoes, it's a no brainer! Five Guys is the place for us. The staff greets you with a smile and seem excited about being there to serve everyone, roasted salted peanuts in the shell to munch on while awaiting your order. There's ample seating and it's bright and cheery. I think the menu has been expanded for those that want something less heavy. So check one of the Five Guys out for the best burger and fries around! I love the music but it does seem a little loud at times.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PoppyC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing